The Planted Tank Forum banner

Starting a Paludarium...

3K views 7 replies 2 participants last post by  lochaber 
#1 ·
After reading through and seeing a couple of threads on here, I'm really wanting to set up a paludarium. I plan on using a 10 gallon with a Aqueon 10 HOB, but I'm still unsure of a couple of things. Substrate is the first. Any recommendations would be great! Next is lighting. I was thinking a finnex fugeray 2 or something along those lines. Yet again, any recommendations would be appreciated! Lastly, I need some plant recommendations. Note that this is my first attempt at anything like this, so I'm kind of unsure as of what plants can or cannot be grown above water. I hope to get as much help as possible! Thanks!

#2 ·
If you are planning on doing a fairly typical paludarium, I don't think a HOB filter will work for most set ups. They can only draw water an inch or two up (maybe more, but not enough to work on a 1/2 full tank).

Better would be to just get a small powerhead or fountain pump, and build a filter into your waterfall.

For substrate, You'll probably want two different versions, your submerged substrate (which would be any of the typical aquarium substrates), and the terrestrial substrate.
What you plan on using for the terrestrial portion is probably going to depend on the plants and the conditions. Do a search for something called "Atlanta Botanical Garden Mix" (ABG mix), a lot of the dendroboard folk use that and it seems to work pretty well from what I've read (haven't used it myself...).

Anyways, I'd recommend going with a bigger tank if you have the room for it. 10 gallons are already fairly small, and when you stick backdrop in there, and then have it only 1/2 full, there isn't much water or room in there.

#3 ·