The Planted Tank Forum banner

20g Long Stocking Advice

2K views 9 replies 4 participants last post by  CuzIsaidSo 
#1 ·
I got a free 20g long so I decided to start my 1st community tank. Ive been keeping Piranha for 10 years so I have experience keeping fish just not peaceful ones so I need a little advice.

I plan on putting a mix of tetras (cardinal, black neon, glowlite, rummy-nose) a pair of German Blue Rams & a few Albino Cory's. With Piranhas overstocking is a good thing (it stops them from setting up territories and defending them) but is overstocking good for peaceful fish ? How many tetra could I put in my tank ? (my filter is rated up to 75g so I have plenty of filtration)

On my Piranha tanks I do 25% water changes every week, how much & how often should I do water changes ? (I'm not putting live plants in the tank if that makes a difference)

What is a good flake food to feed ? What type of frozen food is best ?

#2 ·
Firstly becuase your not planting the tank I would put a fair bit of hardscape in for asthetic looks. Plus it will also be good because like your Piranhas the German Blue Ram's like to get territories and defend them. But this doesnt mean overstock them as this will just make matters worse. If you want all the small community fish I would perhaps change the GBR's for some Gouramies sp. like the Opaline ones, there very nice with less aggression. Also the GBR's are quite fussy with water parameters and prefer some parameters that the other fish may not suit fully, but check that out more to make sure. To do so use this link www.aqadvisor.com And no overstocking is not good for community fish or hardly any fish for that matter. It causes un-needed stress and lowers your water quality.