diatoms after water change
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2010, 03:10 AM   #1
HungrySpleen
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: lawrence ks
Posts: 146
Default

diatoms after water change


did a 50% water change (20 gallons) on sunday with DIY python, treated water with aqua safe b4 adding water. the next day i noticed brown algea on half of my plants. tank has been up for about 8 months. never had brown algea b4 using bucket method now i do. any ideas why?



HungrySpleen is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-08-2010, 04:41 AM   #2
HungrySpleen
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: lawrence ks
Posts: 146
Default

nothin? im just trying to understand why it happened or would happen after the first water change with the DIY python instead of bucket method. seems kinda wierd to me.
HungrySpleen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 02:56 PM   #3
DavidZ
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
DavidZ's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NY,NY
Posts: 629
Default

I think that is not the reason.
Did you clean your substrate?
DavidZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 05:03 PM   #4
HungrySpleen
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: lawrence ks
Posts: 146
Default

yes i vaccumed the gravel the same way as always.
i did rescape the tank 2 weeks ago but did 1 WC/gravel vac without incident then the next WC with python and diatoms showed up.
HungrySpleen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 05:04 PM   #5
jreich
Planted Tank Guru
 
jreich's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: philadelphia
Posts: 2,940
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HungrySpleen View Post
yes i vaccumed the gravel the same way as always.
i did rescape the tank 2 weeks ago but did 1 WC/gravel vac without incident then the next WC with python and diatoms showed up.
i'm like 99% sure the python had nothing to do with it atless there was lots a gunk stuck inside of the python.
jreich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 05:16 PM   #6
HungrySpleen
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: lawrence ks
Posts: 146
Default

i had just made it that night it was rinsed very well (15 mins water running through it constant).

probably not the cause but its the only thing different from normal routine
HungrySpleen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 05:18 PM   #7
DavidZ
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
DavidZ's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NY,NY
Posts: 629
Default

i think it is just a coincidence
DavidZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 05:22 PM   #8
lauraleellbp
Fresh Fish Freak
 
lauraleellbp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (70/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 24,154
Default

What's your water source?

I suspect that there's been a change in your water. Phosphates are a possibility...
__________________
Tampa Bay Aquarium Society - Next meeting Monday, August 11, 2014 @ 7:15pm- See ya there!

lauraleellbp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 05:23 PM   #9
HungrySpleen
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: lawrence ks
Posts: 146
Default

well thanks guys i guess ill just cut back on the feeding amount for a week or so and see what happens..
HungrySpleen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 05:54 PM   #10
jreich
Planted Tank Guru
 
jreich's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: philadelphia
Posts: 2,940
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lauraleellbp View Post
What's your water source?

I suspect that there's been a change in your water. Phosphates are a possibility...
x2!
jreich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 08:18 PM   #11
HungrySpleen
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: lawrence ks
Posts: 146
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lauraleellbp View Post
What's your water source?

I suspect that there's been a change in your water. Phosphates are a possibility...
if by source you mean bathroom sink then thats it.

other than that im waiting to receive water params from city water facility
HungrySpleen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 01:24 PM   #12
DavidZ
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
DavidZ's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NY,NY
Posts: 629
Default

Things are added to tap water a couple times a year,you will never know when or how much.
Agree with Laura!
DavidZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012