Planted tank with Sump Issues - Page 4
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2009, 09:16 PM   #46
goalieman59
Algae Grower
 
goalieman59's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: OFallon, IL
Posts: 121
Default

Ok so tap pH is 7.6, and my tank is now at 6.0, about time.
__________________
Ehiem Pimp #390
2213, 2026, 2028
  • 125g Tall Frontosa
  • 90g African Cichlids
  • 55g Green Spotted Puffers
  • 29g Betta and Dwarf Frog

goalieman59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-23-2009, 11:54 PM   #47
kid creole
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goalieman59 View Post
Ok so tap pH is 7.6, and my tank is now at 6.0, about time.
If you're indicator is blue, then something else in the water is skewing the pH reading.
__________________
kid creole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 02:18 AM   #48
goalieman59
Algae Grower
 
goalieman59's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: OFallon, IL
Posts: 121
Default

just went and looked at my tank and the drop checker is a light green color. YAY!!!
__________________
Ehiem Pimp #390
2213, 2026, 2028
  • 125g Tall Frontosa
  • 90g African Cichlids
  • 55g Green Spotted Puffers
  • 29g Betta and Dwarf Frog

goalieman59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 02:39 AM   #49
kid creole
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goalieman59 View Post
just went and looked at my tank and the drop checker is a light green color. YAY!!!
Nicely done. Good work.
__________________
kid creole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 01:57 PM   #50
suhail71290
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: india
Posts: 3
Default help

wat capacity pump are u using for the return and the input to the sump....can i use a powerhead for the return line....pls help..???
suhail71290 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 02:14 PM   #51
kid creole
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by suhail71290 View Post
wat capacity pump are u using for the return and the input to the sump....can i use a powerhead for the return line....pls help..???
Check into this program to answer your questions:

http://www.advancedaquarist.com/2007/5/aafeature2
__________________
kid creole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 07:30 PM   #52
goalieman59
Algae Grower
 
goalieman59's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: OFallon, IL
Posts: 121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by suhail71290 View Post
wat capacity pump are u using for the return and the input to the sump....can i use a powerhead for the return line....pls help..???
I am using a 1200GPH pump. and for a input i am using a durso standpipe raised up to stop surface movement.
goalieman59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 10:59 PM   #53
wkndracer
Planted Tank Guru
 
wkndracer's Avatar
 
PTrader: (68/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Citrus County,Florida
Posts: 6,180
Default

Congrats on getting things dialed in. If I add another tank it will be with a sump and not a canister. The last one I set up with my own design on the sump division panels is absolutely a joy compared to cleaning canisters when needed.
__________________
The Fraternity of Dirt
If at first you don't succeed,,, keep kicking it
RubberSideDownOnTheLanding,
2-75g planted, 5-55g planted, 5-20g planted, 110g w/30g sump, 8-10g, Refugium, doghouse/newbie
2012 update adding table top pleco pans & a 90g (Nutz)
wkndracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 01:31 PM   #54
goalieman59
Algae Grower
 
goalieman59's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: OFallon, IL
Posts: 121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wkndracer View Post
Congrats on getting things dialed in. If I add another tank it will be with a sump and not a canister. The last one I set up with my own design on the sump division panels is absolutely a joy compared to cleaning canisters when needed.
So True!
goalieman59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fx5, gassing, sump

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012