my new 55 gallon
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2009, 02:26 AM   #1
redman88
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Artesia, nm
Posts: 592
Default

my new 55 gallon


okay so i got a deal on a 55 gallon tank. $50. so i am thinking about making it a river tank and this is the filter setup i am considering



the yellow portion is a sponge and the green is bio-bale or bio-balls.
redman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-09-2009, 02:29 AM   #2
CL
C-A-T-S
 
CL's Avatar
 
PTrader: (79/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 9,695
Default

I take it you saw the 125 gallon river tank?
__________________
CL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 02:35 AM   #3
Vladdy
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Vladdy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 386
Default

You could make it a Lake Akan or Lake Myvatn biotope tank and have marimo balls at the bottom. The current from your desired filter set-up would roll them around. It would be really cool.
__________________
Vladdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 02:41 AM   #4
redman88
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Artesia, nm
Posts: 592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clwatkins10 View Post
I take it you saw the 125 gallon river tank?
yes i did. and i am planing on get some High Color Rainbow darters for it.
redman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 04:44 AM   #5
redman88
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Artesia, nm
Posts: 592
Default

so my question is would this amount of filtration work for the tank?
redman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 08:28 AM   #6
hissytri
Algae Grower
 
hissytri's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Auburn, AL
Posts: 22
Default

I built a local river biotope tank a few years ago out of a 55 gallon. It was a great project and the darters were amazing little fish. These animals all came from the Highland Rim of Tennessee area. I had a mag 18 for water flow and filtration. It was running through a sump with bioballs. I also ran a protein skimmer on it because the stream where all specimens were collected was cold and well oxygenated with very few plants. So for me lighting was of little concern and the water needed to be cold and well oxygenated. I ran a chiller to take the water temperature to 68 F. The skimmer just helped to keep oxygen in the water.
You can see pics here http://s27.photobucket.com/albums/c1...sytry/Darters/

How big a portion are you planning to devote to the filtration area?
hissytri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 03:31 PM   #7
redman88
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Artesia, nm
Posts: 592
Default

well i am thinking about 3 from one side, and the full hight and width.
redman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 03:17 AM   #8
redman88
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Artesia, nm
Posts: 592
Default

the same person i got my new 55 gallon from is selling a 20gallon long for 20 should i go back and get it and do a sump setup for my river tank?
redman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 03:01 PM   #9
Shadowcat3
Algae Grower
 
Shadowcat3's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Clear Spring, Maryland, USA
Posts: 138
Default

3 inches in from the end and covering the whole end should be enough filtration if you want to do it that way, IMO. That's at least the equivalent in volume of a canister, or more. My Rena XP3's have about 2 gallons of volume. You're talking closer to 3, which should be plenty....FYI, a gallon is about 230 cubic inches in volume, if that helps. Make sure that you can get the media out easily for regular cleaning..........or you can go with the sump if you want everything hidden under the tank.
Shadowcat3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012