What type of powerhead do you use?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2003, 02:28 AM   #1
SNPiccolo5
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
SNPiccolo5's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 859
Default

OK, here it is, I searched the forum to make sure there isn't a question like this. I want this to be more of a "poll" type post maybe, but don't know what to put for options, so here it is....

What type of powerhead do you use (for any purpouse) and what is your experience? What type of powerhead would you reccomend to replace a Rio 600 with if I am using it for a reactor with a gravel vac? I'm looking for similiar flow rate and it needs to be compatible with the gravel vac reactor idea! Thanks!

-Tim
__________________
Tank in transition! 55 gallons, hard water.
SNPiccolo5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-27-2003, 05:27 AM   #2
kor4ever
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Madison,WI
Posts: 158
Default

Well, I use an Aquaclear 150. It airlocks, can't stand it

Felix
__________________
20G heavily planted tank with Eco Complete
Pressurized CO2, Eheim Ecco 2236, 1 55W and 1 36W bulb
kor4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2003, 01:38 PM   #3
STAT 007
Planted Member
 
STAT 007's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 241
Send a message via AIM to STAT 007
Default

Well...actually, in this case (as in many others, I'm sure), I'd recommend a Rio 600 for you. LOL. I mean, you know it fits and you know its flow rate. Honestly, Rio powerheads are in fact really good for powered CO2 reactors. They're pretty no-frills, fit on well, and have a simplistic cube shape to them. However, a Rio 600 seems awfully powerful for a simple CO2 reactor. I'm using a Rip 50 myself and it works just great.
__________________
Sincerely,
STAT 007
Fightin' Texas Aggie Class of 2004

37 gallon AGA Black Seal, Emperor 400, Ebo Jager 200 W, 100% Flourite Substrate, 2x55 Watt AH Supply PC Lighting (5300K & 6400K) @ ~3.4 WPG, High-Pressure CO2.
STAT 007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2003, 08:06 PM   #4
ridns
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
ridns's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Rockford,IL
Posts: 349
Default

I decided to go with a Pengwin 1140, 300gal/hr, mainly because the intake looks much safer for my fish. Secondly, the 300gal/hr seems to work well in my 42gal hex tank. I just attach the CO2 line to the intake of the powerhead with a rubber band, it works great!
__________________
Eheim pimp #128, 55gal 13x20x48, Eheim Pro 2227, CO2 injected, into the filter breather tube,4x 55w Pcs , 12 hr light cycle (sunrise/sunset simulated), Milwaukee SMS 122, faulty bubble counter replaced with M3 bubble counter..... moderately Planted, Plantex CSM+B and ferts

To steal ideas from one person is plagiarism; to steal from many is research
ridns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2003, 09:58 PM   #5
m.lemay
Planted Tank Guru
 
m.lemay's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Naugatuck, CT.
Posts: 2,647
Default

I'm using a Via-Aqua powerhead but I only use it for water circulation in the tank at night. Theres no reactor attached to it. It works faithfully and its quiet.
Your problem may not be the powerhead at all, maybe its just CO2 airlocking the thing.
When I had an in the tank reactor I had it going thru the side of the reactor at an angle so that it would create a swishing vortex inside the reactor. There really was no way for co2 to get into it since the pump was lower than the top of the reactor.

Marcel
__________________
FILSTAR Pimp #2

75 gal heavily planted,50/50 Black beauty,Eco-complete substrate, Pressurised CO2 with solenoid, ph controller, AB Reactor 1000, 330 watts 9325K GE PC lighting,Ehiem Liquidoser, 2-Filstar xp3 canisters.
m.lemay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2003, 10:22 PM   #6
SNPiccolo5
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
SNPiccolo5's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 859
Default

Well, I don't think it is airlocking. In my other post, I mentioned this as well, but it is immediatly niosy (it is completely submerged and I shook it to get all the air out etc...) with the reactor and everything without CO2 running, so that is not the source of noise. Right now I am running it into my filter and I actually get OK diffusion, I am surprised. But, that is noisier than the powerhead before it got noisy, so I do want the powerhead, I am just pretty sure I need a new one. What are some reccomendations for a new powerhead that I could use with a reactor?

-Tim
SNPiccolo5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2003, 10:38 AM   #7
Anonymous
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 251
Default

First if I knew what type it was that would help. If you running it into a CO2 diffuser, their may be back pressure on the impeller that gets greater as the diffuser gets dirtier. I suggest using and AC 301 or better. All Penguin powerheads are terrible--sorry to whoever bought one--your going to be unhappy. I enjoy the AC filters (although the intakes are not safe at all and youll need the quickfilter for i) because they constantly put out the gph they say they do. Penguin PHs lose power over time and their gph drops. ACs have a intake for air to take a CO2 line. If you feed the CO2 through the intake youll airlock the impeller, but if you go into the airline/CO2 line slot, the CO2 will get smashed up and wont airlcock the filter. :P :P :P
Anonymous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2003, 06:50 PM   #8
ridns
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
ridns's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Rockford,IL
Posts: 349
Default

Not to burst your bubble, but, I've been running two Penguin powerheads for 6 months now feeding DIY CO2 into the water inlets and have had no problems what so ever. They do an excellant job of diffusing the CO2 by the way.
__________________
Eheim pimp #128, 55gal 13x20x48, Eheim Pro 2227, CO2 injected, into the filter breather tube,4x 55w Pcs , 12 hr light cycle (sunrise/sunset simulated), Milwaukee SMS 122, faulty bubble counter replaced with M3 bubble counter..... moderately Planted, Plantex CSM+B and ferts

To steal ideas from one person is plagiarism; to steal from many is research
ridns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2003, 07:03 PM   #9
Anonymous
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 251
Default

Give them time, mine usually lasted for around 6 months. They will start to break. Its not against you, the only thing Marineland sells that is good is their carbon and Bio-wheel Pros.
Anonymous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2003, 06:08 AM   #10
STAT 007
Planted Member
 
STAT 007's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 241
Send a message via AIM to STAT 007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by walpurgis999
...the only thing Marineland sells that is good is their carbon and Bio-wheel Pros.
This isn't a fair statement. You're forgetting about Bio-Spira and all kinds of other products that are good for some people in some situations, just like most of the products from reputable name brands out there. :roll:
__________________
Sincerely,
STAT 007
Fightin' Texas Aggie Class of 2004

37 gallon AGA Black Seal, Emperor 400, Ebo Jager 200 W, 100% Flourite Substrate, 2x55 Watt AH Supply PC Lighting (5300K & 6400K) @ ~3.4 WPG, High-Pressure CO2.
STAT 007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2003, 07:28 AM   #11
Anonymous
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 251
Default

Actually, I only meant to mean the Marineland Hardware, not the foods and other aquarium products they sell. Sorry for the confusion. ops:
Anonymous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2003, 07:46 AM   #12
STAT 007
Planted Member
 
STAT 007's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 241
Send a message via AIM to STAT 007
Default

Oh, I hear ya. It's totally cool. I have a Marineland Emperor 400 that's great, but I assume this would be included in your "Pro Bio-Wheel" category. Interestingly, I'm wanting to switch to an Eheim canister filter soon, but I'm a little busy spending money on plants and ferts right now...hehehe...
__________________
Sincerely,
STAT 007
Fightin' Texas Aggie Class of 2004

37 gallon AGA Black Seal, Emperor 400, Ebo Jager 200 W, 100% Flourite Substrate, 2x55 Watt AH Supply PC Lighting (5300K & 6400K) @ ~3.4 WPG, High-Pressure CO2.
STAT 007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2003, 06:29 PM   #13
Anonymous
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 251
Default

This is the Biowheel Pro: http://www.marineland.com/products/c...con_bwpro.html .
From what I hear is the Emperor series is very succesful because it has a spray bar to run the Biowheel; whereas, the Penguin series uses the waterfall to push the bottom of the Biowheel around. http://www.marineland.com/products/c...uinfilters.asp
Not a good filter at all, I am surprised with the Emperor series out that Marineland still uses the Penguin series. Again not a good series--I mean the Penguin series. :?:
Anonymous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2003, 08:09 PM   #14
STAT 007
Planted Member
 
STAT 007's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 241
Send a message via AIM to STAT 007
Default

Yeah, I really like my Emperor 400 and for $37 freakin' bucks (www.bigalsonline.com), I REALLY can't complain. But now that I'm going planted, I'm wanting a canister. However, I doubt I could have afforded a decent canister from the beginning, so the Emperor was a good choice for me. My next wish list item is an Eheim canister filter...
__________________
Sincerely,
STAT 007
Fightin' Texas Aggie Class of 2004

37 gallon AGA Black Seal, Emperor 400, Ebo Jager 200 W, 100% Flourite Substrate, 2x55 Watt AH Supply PC Lighting (5300K & 6400K) @ ~3.4 WPG, High-Pressure CO2.
STAT 007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2003, 04:24 AM   #15
Anonymous
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 251
Default

Actually, everyone complains how HOB filters knock CO2 out of the water because of the waterfall design they use. But if you fill the tank up to over the water end, you eliminate the surface agitation it creates and you dont lose any CO2--but you probably lose some anyway. I would suggest taking off the Biowheel though because they do remove a lot of CO2. On the other hand, Biowheels really help keep your take clear as a whistle--minus someone's spit in the whistle. :shock:
Anonymous is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powerhead Reactor pufferfreak DIY 2 09-06-2004 08:21 PM
powerhead vs large air-stone doublefake DIY 3 07-28-2004 05:31 PM
External Powerhead CO2 Reactor SNPiccolo5 Equipment 11 04-07-2003 08:54 PM
Unexpected Source of Noise Powerhead! SNPiccolo5 Equipment 8 03-27-2003 09:01 PM
Noisy Powerhead! SNPiccolo5 Equipment 11 03-09-2003 07:40 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012