Adding a starter
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2009, 02:28 PM   #1
GTR
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,086
Default

Adding a starter


I'm a trash picker.

Neighboring business was tossing out a twin 15W desk lamp. Perfect to replace a LOA CF I have sitting over a 20 gal. But it's old. It doesn't use starters. To turn it on you have to hold the start button down. That wont work at the shop since I'm only here M-F and need the light on a timer. Besides without a timer I forget to turn them off before I leave.

Can I add a starters using the old ballasts?

SteveU
GTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-08-2009, 02:46 PM   #2
DevinWolfe
Planted Member
 
DevinWolfe's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 283
Default

Maybe you can find an electronic ballast that suits the bulbs in the fixture so you wouldn't have to worry about a starter. I bought an electronic ballast for a single 36" tube for $12, so I can't imagine it would be too expensive. Of course, size and shape may be factors that prevent any old ballast going in, so I could be wrong.
DevinWolfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 03:16 PM   #3
GTR
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,086
Default

Space is kinda tight but the old style mag ballasts aren't small either. Now if I just had one of the 15-20 old style tanks with the stainless trim I could go all out with the retro look. lol
GTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 01:59 AM   #4
dbosman@msu.edu
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: East Lansing, MI, USA
Posts: 2,710
Default Yes, you can use starters with the old ballasts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTR View Post
I'm a trash picker.
Neighboring business was tossing out a twin 15W desk lamp. Perfect to replace a LOA CF I have sitting over a 20 gal. But it's old. It doesn't use starters. To turn it on you have to hold the start button down. That wont work at the shop since I'm only here M-F and need the light on a timer. Besides without a timer I forget to turn them off before I leave.
Can I add a starters using the old ballasts?
SteveU
Normally you can put a starter in place of the red wires on the press to hold switch. The black wires will connect to the new switch, or just connect time to each other if you're only ever going to use a timer.

But, I've never installed starter(s) on a two tube desk lamp and don't know what the ballast and wiring look like. You may have to experiment. Sorry.
dbosman@msu.edu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012