Red Sea NO3 kits - Regent A
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2004, 12:57 AM   #1
Rolo
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota
Posts: 1,717
Default

Red Sea NO3 kits - Regent A


Recently my test kit appeared to stop working. If you have one, you have noticed in the instruction to shake regent A very hard for 30 seconds so to get as much of the cadium dissolved (grey solid on the bottom).

I never remember getting all of it to dissolve, but the kit worked fine then. I didn't use it for about a month but now it seems theres a lot more grey stuff on the bottom. And now it reads 0 after a dosing of KNO3.

Anyone experience the same?
__________________
Rolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-15-2004, 02:25 AM   #2
Momotaro
Doesn't like Kool-Aid
 
Momotaro's Avatar
 
PTrader: (52/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hawthorne, New Jersey
Posts: 10,125
Default

I have had that same problem Chris. Try shaking the heck out of Agent A, then shake it some more!

I never got a decent reading from my kit after I had let the kit sit for too long. I don't know why that is. That is why I switched to the La Motte kit.

Mike
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Momotaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2004, 03:51 AM   #3
Rolo
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota
Posts: 1,717
Default

I guess its time for a new kit then.

Mike, LaMotte has the cadmium in powdered form corect? I'm going to either go for that or just stick with my Seachem one - though I can't stand its readability.
__________________
Rolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2004, 04:03 AM   #4
Momotaro
Doesn't like Kool-Aid
 
Momotaro's Avatar
 
PTrader: (52/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hawthorne, New Jersey
Posts: 10,125
Default

Correct Chris. Powered cadmium.

I have never tried the Seachem kit, but the La Motte is pretty easy to read.

Mike
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Momotaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2004, 12:02 PM   #5
TeeItUp
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
TeeItUp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mount Vernon, Ohio
Posts: 493
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Momotaro
I never got a decent reading from my kit after I had let the kit sit for too long. I don't know why that is. That is why I switched to the La Motte kit.

Mike
That is why I am ordering a LaMotte today in fact. I am tired of messing with the others.
__________________
Eheim Pimp Club member #14
2215 Classic
Eheim CO2 Diffuser
TeeItUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2004, 02:40 PM   #6
KevinC
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
KevinC's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oshkosh, WI
Posts: 687
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Momotaro
Correct Chris. Powered cadmium.

Mike
Just a reminder from the cadmium MSDS sheet:

Quote:
Originally Posted by MSDS

Toxicity: Cadmium is a carcinogen & reproductive toxicant.

Primary Route of Entry: Inhalation, Skin

Other Health Related Comments:
IARC- S.7, 1987. Cadmium is known to cause cancer in humans. On Calif. Prop. 65 list.

Target Organs: Kidney, Lungs

Harmful if inhaled, swallowed or absorbed through skin.

Disposal:
Dispose of as hazardous waste--to incinerator or EPA approved landfill--according to federal, state and local regulations.
Yes, I know - it is not much cadmium at all. However, if you are concerned about environmental issues, I would suggest contacting your local landfill about how to dispose of it - many have hazardous waste days where you can drop off things like lithium batteries, TV's, computers, paint, etc. Store used cadmium in a sealed bottle through the year, then take it in when they have the day. Also, like many of our test kits - be especially careful that young children do not have a chance to eat it!

Kevin
__________________
Kevin

72g bowfront planted, CO2, 2x - T5HO, Eheim 2213 and 2013, red tiger lotus, vals, java fern and moss, crypts, swords, mbuna tank: Yellow labs, Ps. demasoni, clown plecos, SAE's.

10g mini-reef. 16lbs LR, green mushroom, star polyps, wagon wheel polyps, purple mushroom, candycane, hammer, other zoas, CUC.
KevinC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2004, 09:02 PM   #7
Momotaro
Doesn't like Kool-Aid
 
Momotaro's Avatar
 
PTrader: (52/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hawthorne, New Jersey
Posts: 10,125
Default

Thanks for that info Kevin!

There is so little cadmium that I myself am not concerned. I am more worried about the chemicals I work with everyday more than I am of the chemicals in my test kits, and I am not sure that is a good thing either! Lesson here is that we should try and be aware of all the chemicals in the test kits that we use and to use those chemicals according to the given directions and with care as well!

Mike
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Momotaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2004, 09:40 PM   #8
Ibn
Planted Tank VIP
 
Ibn's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,212
Default

Good info there Kevin.

I would like to add that the same applies to some of the medication that we have to deal with.
__________________
Eric

Ibn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2004, 01:11 PM   #9
ThatNewGuy
Algae Grower
 
ThatNewGuy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 145
Default

When a nitrate kit fails then you get no response or a very high response?
ThatNewGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2004, 02:56 PM   #10
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThatNewGuy
When a nitrate kit fails then you get no response or a very high response?
I have had them go both ways. My first AP test kit went high and my Red Sea went low.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2004, 08:42 PM   #11
Momotaro
Doesn't like Kool-Aid
 
Momotaro's Avatar
 
PTrader: (52/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hawthorne, New Jersey
Posts: 10,125
Default

When my Red Sea Nitrate test kit went bad I got no readings whatsoever.

Mike
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Momotaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2004, 10:28 PM   #12
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Momotaro
When my Red Sea Nitrate test kit went bad I got no readings whatsoever.

Mike
That's what I mean by going low.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2004, 01:12 AM   #13
Rolo
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota
Posts: 1,717
Default

Same here with Red Sea. I actually dissolved a piece of KNO3 in the test tube before testing - which probably made the ppm in the hundreds or thousands - and still no reading.

They are nice kits as long as it's used before they expire.
__________________
Rolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2004, 06:08 AM   #14
lamthuyduong
Algae Grower
 
lamthuyduong's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: West Covina, CA
Posts: 126
Default

Same here. My Red Sea nitrate test doesn't work anymore. I bought it a month ago. I'm not getting any readings at all, even after heavy dosing of nitrate.
lamthuyduong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2004, 06:06 PM   #15
fedge
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
fedge's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Iowa, USA
Posts: 460
Default

if you keep your test kits where they get hot (above 90F) then they may go bad... I opened the reagent A once and used a plastic stick to stire up the bottom and crush it all up again. This is something I do to all my N03 red sea test kits..
__________________
Help control the pet population...spay or neuter people won't spay or neuter their dogs or cats!
fedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Test Kits mitche8359 Equipment 15 03-02-2005 08:35 PM
Just got test kits need advice on results mitchell2345 Fertilizers and Water Parameters 20 08-17-2004 02:44 AM
Phosphate Test Kits pphx459 Fertilizers and Water Parameters 15 07-28-2004 05:17 AM
Where to get test kits sailblue5 Fertilizers and Water Parameters 2 07-06-2004 07:10 PM
TEST KITS FOR NEW TANK? Guttboy Fertilizers and Water Parameters 14 07-26-2003 01:07 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012