wiring strip lights
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-04-2004, 11:22 PM   #1
sailblue5
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Columbus OH
Posts: 146
Default

wiring strip lights


Hi, so I went to the home improvment store to look at lights to put under my hood. The lights I want, strip lights, have 2 40W bulbs. These just have a wire instead of a plug. I would really like to just plug these lights in to the wall, how can I do that cheaply? I am not an electrician now know much about it, so I am a bit nervous to try it on my own so any advice would help alot.
Thanks
Michael
sailblue5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-05-2004, 12:17 AM   #2
John P.
Wannabe Guru
 
John P.'s Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Laguna Beach, CA
Posts: 1,321
Default

You'll likely need a 3-pronged plug. You can buy a 3-prong extension cord at HD or Lowe's. Wire it up and you're set.
__________________
John P.
John P. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2004, 12:47 AM   #3
jart
Wannabe Guru
 
jart's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NS Canada
Posts: 1,369
Default

it's not that hard to do actually. however remember you're dealing with electricity, as such you may want to have someone check your handiwork after you're done. as john suggested you'll likely need a 3 pronged plug. hopefully there are 3 wires coming out of the fixture, one hot, one neutral, one ground. if there is not a ground wire then i would go back to the store where you bought it and ask for a length of wire suitable for a ground, and also it may be good to ask the salesperson where the ground wire should be attached to the fixture.

there is a variety of plugs available for such purposes. generally to attach one you will need a screw driver and some sort of wire stripper. there should be directions included with the plug.

this sort of repair is quite often covered in electrical diy books. if you need any further info let me know. however i'd like to suggest that if this info is over your head, don't do it yourself, take it to someone who knows what they are doing. i have gotten a couple of very painful shocks whilst wiring my ballasts.

also i suggest a gfci unit for your electrical outlet. do a search for gfci if you're not sure what this is. good safety feature.

ps i just reread john's post and he actually suggests a 3 prong extension cord. well that would work too, but the last time i looked i couldn't track one down in a number of hardware stores. if you want to use the 3 prong extension cord, you should splice the wires together inside the fixture with wire nuts.

hope that helps.
jart is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just wired my lights sailblue5 Lighting 4 07-12-2004 03:14 PM
how to install computer fans to strip lights: wiring issues abc Lighting 7 05-24-2004 06:57 AM
Any Cheap NON DIY strip lights for 10 gallon? evan Lighting 3 12-31-2003 11:27 AM
DIY lighting using old all-glass strip light? Schala DIY 15 03-18-2003 11:18 PM
Red Lights..... Flgatorguy General Planted Tank Discussion 8 11-30-2002 05:29 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012