Cerges' Reactor - DIY Inline CO2 Reactor - Page 51
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2014, 05:05 PM   #751
newbieplanter
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (26/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boston ma
Posts: 706
Default

Havin a. Bit of trouble with my reactor, for some reason the water doesnt stay full like how it did in the begining when i first set it up? I was scared it was gonna some how over flow or burst anyway nothin like that happend. When the reacter water goes low i turn it upside down an the water fills back up an after a few hrs or so the water gets low again las night to today the water got the lowest ive seen maybe about 2" left in tha reacter all else seemed fine. Anyone have an idea what this could be?
First hooked up!
Running Day 1.
How i found it this morning.
A couple seconds after i tipped it upside down.
newbieplanter is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-05-2014, 06:25 PM   #752
Solcielo lawrencia
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,525
Default

The gas is building up which indicates either too much injection or not enough dissolution. What you can do is increase backpressure by restriction outflow. When you place the reactor so high, there is very little backpressure. Lowering it will increase head height which will increase backpressure.
Solcielo lawrencia is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 04:40 PM   #753
zalinth
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solcielo lawrencia View Post
The gas is building up which indicates either too much injection or not enough dissolution. What you can do is increase backpressure by restriction outflow. When you place the reactor so high, there is very little backpressure. Lowering it will increase head height which will increase backpressure.
Hey thanks for this suggestion. I just got done building mine and was testing it in the bath tub to make sure it didn't leak and noticed after about 20 mins it sounded like it was getting louder(Can't find a clear one in town). So I would re-bleed it and it would be good for another 20mins.

After reading your suggestion I took the output hose and duck taped it to the shower wall and walked away. After about an hour I checked on it again and no gas build up.
zalinth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 05:14 PM   #754
scapegoat
Planted Tank Guru
 
scapegoat's Avatar
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: philadelphia, pa
Posts: 2,192
Default

if that is gas build up from the co2... turn down the co2. I don't think I've ever seen that much co2 build up before, wow
__________________
scapegoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 05:58 PM   #755
Solcielo lawrencia
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,525
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zalinth View Post
Hey thanks for this suggestion. I just got done building mine and was testing it in the bath tub to make sure it didn't leak and noticed after about 20 mins it sounded like it was getting louder(Can't find a clear one in town). So I would re-bleed it and it would be good for another 20mins.

After reading your suggestion I took the output hose and duck taped it to the shower wall and walked away. After about an hour I checked on it again and no gas build up.
I'm glad that worked for you. A little bit of back pressure increases dissolution rates significantly.
Solcielo lawrencia is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 01:09 PM   #756
FishStix
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 367
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FishStix View Post
I purchased a 20" x 4.5" clear filer housing with 3/4 ports, arrived last week, this this is massive. It going on a 180 gallon tank with 75 gallon sump. Do you think it overkill and I should return it and go with 10" one? Just wondering before I set it up.

Thanks
Anyone have any thoughts on this canister I bought for my reactor? Do you guys think it too large and I should get one that smaller?

Thanks
FishStix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 01:29 PM   #757
scapegoat
Planted Tank Guru
 
scapegoat's Avatar
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: philadelphia, pa
Posts: 2,192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FishStix View Post
Anyone have any thoughts on this canister I bought for my reactor? Do you guys think it too large and I should get one that smaller?

Thanks
I have a similar sized blue colored one for my 125g w/ 40g sump. I'm still dialing the thing in... I think two may be better than one. I'm not sure if my flow rate is too high, but I still get a lot of bubbles.

I have the co2 line ending in front of the return pump, with an air stone attached. my canister is filled with some sort of pond sponge, it's not very dense, and capped with some quilt batting. still a ton of bubbles... i've put a ball valve on the outlet of the canister to cut down on flow and increase pressure... still a ton of bubbles. I'm debating on purchasing a second to increase the amount of time the co2 spends suspended in the water.
__________________
scapegoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 07:18 PM   #758
Solcielo lawrencia
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,525
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FishStix View Post
Anyone have any thoughts on this canister I bought for my reactor? Do you guys think it too large and I should get one that smaller?

Thanks
Some people use the 20" one with good results. It's hard to go wrong with bigger. If your concern is about overkill, it may be. Or not. Like scapegoat mentioned, various factors affect dissolution and bubbles may pop out.

One thing to note about gas bubbles in water is that at a certain point, the water immediately surrounding the bubble becomes super-saturated and can't absorb any more CO2. When this happens, the gas can no longer dissolve. This may be the issue scapegoat is referring to, though it will be difficult without knowing the exact setup.

Scapegoat, what you describe sounds like the pump is chopping up the bubbles before it enters the filter housing, is that correct?
Solcielo lawrencia is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 02:36 PM   #759
FishStix
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 367
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scapegoat View Post
I have a similar sized blue colored one for my 125g w/ 40g sump. I'm still dialing the thing in... I think two may be better than one. I'm not sure if my flow rate is too high, but I still get a lot of bubbles.

I have the co2 line ending in front of the return pump, with an air stone attached. my canister is filled with some sort of pond sponge, it's not very dense, and capped with some quilt batting. still a ton of bubbles... i've put a ball valve on the outlet of the canister to cut down on flow and increase pressure... still a ton of bubbles. I'm debating on purchasing a second to increase the amount of time the co2 spends suspended in the water.
Do you have the reactor on it own pump? I order a Mag7 pump with Fractioning Impeller just for CO2 reactor, as some others suggested so I am very interested to see how this works. I hope to start setting up my tank in a few weeks.

Thanks for info.
FishStix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 02:49 PM   #760
scapegoat
Planted Tank Guru
 
scapegoat's Avatar
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: philadelphia, pa
Posts: 2,192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FishStix View Post
Do you have the reactor on it own pump? I order a Mag7 pump with Fractioning Impeller just for CO2 reactor, as some others suggested so I am very interested to see how this works. I hope to start setting up my tank in a few weeks.

Thanks for info.
I don't. I have it inline with the whole system. It would probably do better on it's own, slower, pump. The problem I'm seeing is how to plumb it up well. The benefit of it being inline with the sump is that it gets cleaned water. I have a canister I'm not using though... so I could play around with that for the time being.
__________________
scapegoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 09:58 PM   #761
evilsway
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: brandon, fl
Posts: 6
Default

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eMSWx7xAe78


Hey guys, got mine built. Big thanks to Everyone.
evilsway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2014, 02:50 AM   #762
bsantucci
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 522
Default

I tried and failed miserably at this tonight. Question for you all, is a fluval 406 strong enough to run with a cerges reactor? I bought this as the housing.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007VZ2O2O/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007VZ2O2O/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

When I hooked it all up there was very little flow coming from my return to the tank. 1/2" pvc is what fits the inside of the housing.

So did I do something wrong or is the fluval 406 just not enough to run this? Nothing fancy for the hookups, just two brass barb fittings with the filter hoses on them and one tee on the input line to run the co2.
__________________
bsantucci is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2014, 02:05 PM   #763
IiScaPeJuNkiEiI
Algae Grower
 
IiScaPeJuNkiEiI's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: MI
Posts: 87
Default

hahaha... After looking closer I just realized I have mine hooked up backwards... *ugh*

No wonder why I still have bubbles in the tank...sheesh
__________________
Ooooh... Plants!
IiScaPeJuNkiEiI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 02:56 AM   #764
bsantucci
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 522
Default

Those using the home depot GE SmartWater housing, what size PVC did you use for the inside? I got a 1" piece and it slides in, but I don't feel it's tight enough to not fall out. Is there a coupler than can take up the extra millimeter or so or did you just use an aquarium safe epoxy?
__________________
bsantucci is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 03:27 AM   #765
theknight
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: South Florida
Posts: 53
Default CO2 Regulator Pressure

Just a quick question, those with DIY water filter cerges, what pressure do you set your CO2 regulator output?
__________________
Ehiem Pimp Club #546
theknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012