Alternative to Aquasoil
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2014, 10:40 PM   #1
Qwedfg
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Qwedfg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 394
Default

Alternative to Aquasoil


Looking for a similiar substrate that doesn't leach ammonia. I am going to be using osmocote plus root tabs so I'm not that concerned about fertilizers in there. Looking for something that has a nice color, doesn't turn into mush and possibly buffers pH a little.
Qwedfg is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-05-2014, 10:59 PM   #2
gus6464
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,569
Default

Use MGOCPM as a base layer but don't put it on the edges of the glass. Then do a generous cap of Activ-Flora. Put the O+ in the tank before you drop the MGOCPM.
gus6464 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2014, 11:18 PM   #3
Qwedfg
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Qwedfg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 394
Default

Not looking to go with dirt but thanks for the comment. I used dirt in a previous build with a lot of success but I'm looking to go with an "aquasoil" type substrate that won't leach ammonia but will stay intact without being dusty (Fluval stratum) or crumbling.

edit

Has anyone tried the Brightwell substrate? It doesn't seem to have a lot of reviews but the ones that are around are pretty good.

Last edited by Qwedfg; 07-05-2014 at 11:53 PM.. Reason: a
Qwedfg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 12:16 AM   #4
ThatGuyWithTheFish
perugiae
 
ThatGuyWithTheFish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (23/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Boston
Posts: 2,357
Default

I mean, it only does it for a month or so. It's not a big deal.
__________________

"Boulders-Upon-Meadow"


My Golden Rule of planted tanks: WWTAD-
"What would Takashi Amano do?"


RAOK Club #69
ThatGuyWithTheFish is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 01:09 AM   #5
Qwedfg
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Qwedfg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 394
Default

Unfortunately, even if i wanted to get aquasoil it isn't available at the AFA store. Sold out I guess.
Qwedfg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 01:21 AM   #6
ThatGuyWithTheFish
perugiae
 
ThatGuyWithTheFish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (23/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Boston
Posts: 2,357
Default

They'll have more by the end of the month. Still have 3L bags, though
__________________

"Boulders-Upon-Meadow"


My Golden Rule of planted tanks: WWTAD-
"What would Takashi Amano do?"


RAOK Club #69
ThatGuyWithTheFish is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 01:25 AM   #7
Qwedfg
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Qwedfg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 394
Default

Do you have to water change every day with aquasoil? I am going to be using RODI but that will be a lot of water to make for a month. How much do you think will I need to scape an ~11 gallon (18x11.5x11.5).
Qwedfg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 02:27 AM   #8
ChadKruger
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
ChadKruger's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: California vacaville
Posts: 366
Default

Daily water changes are needed. Just use tap water for the first two weeks. When the amonia levels are down swap over to the RO. The first two weeks should be plants only anyhow so the RO really isn't needed.
ChadKruger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2014, 06:36 PM   #9
talontsiawd
Planted Tank Guru
 
talontsiawd's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 4,305
Send a message via AIM to talontsiawd
Default

There are other options, Fluval makes some products that look similar, I think Azoo does as well, not sure how easy that is to get most places.

One thing about AS, if you are willing to wait until AFA gets more in stock. Remember it's sold by volume so it's not as expensive as it first appears. If I were to use, say Flourite, in my 60P, I would need 1.5 bags or more compared to one bag of AS. For my 60P, that's about the same price, assuming I bought both locally.
talontsiawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2014, 10:02 PM   #10
Loumeer
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 177
Default

Brightwell Aquatics FlorinVolcanit Plant Substrate

Can be found at drsfostersmith.com
Loumeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012