My Very First 36G Planted Tank - Page 4
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Tank Journals


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2014, 06:10 AM   #46
llayz
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Fountain Valley
Posts: 131
Default

Thanks guys. Tank seems to be cycled already. I basically swap tanks in 2 days leaving the filter running in a bucket with the fish. I will be testing daily for a week or two.

Anyone know where I can get my hands on this?


Fissidens fontanus


http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/my...idens_fontanus
llayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-12-2014, 06:11 AM   #47
llayz
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Fountain Valley
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmf3460 View Post
looking good! hurry up and plant. I would say if your media from an old tank was still good and had good bio bacteria you should have an instant cycle, test the water if you get no ammo and some nitrates then toss them in after they acclimate to the temp. Keep up on water changes for the first little while until all the stuff settles completely.

VERY GOOD LOOKING SCAPE SO FAR
I planted my carpet today. I'll post pictures later
llayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 12:03 PM   #48
llayz
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Fountain Valley
Posts: 131
Default

So after doing somethinking.. I don't think my tank is high light with the 18inch from sub to the light fixture.. I really really want a nice and low carpet.. Should I get another planted+ or ray2?? suggestions??
llayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 12:50 PM   #49
Hilde
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hilde's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mableton, GA
Posts: 4,526
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by llayz View Post
So after doing somethinking.. I don't think my tank is high light with the 18inch from sub to the light fixture.. I really really want a nice and low carpet.. Should I get another planted+ or ray2?? suggestions??
If you have the cash I would go with the Ray planted LED.

If you don't have the cash here are some that may work with the light you have. Eleocharis acicularis, Echinodorus tenellus, Lilaeopsis brasiliensis, Sagittaria subulata

Check out plantfinder and click on placement option for my ideas.
Hilde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 12:05 AM   #50
llayz
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Fountain Valley
Posts: 131
Default

Hey guys here is a picture of my planted glosso I planted 2 days ago. You can't see it here.. but I can see them growing already and they're going up and not sideways as i expected.. There is also this white fuzz cob web looking algee growing but as i googled it, it seems to be normal for new tanks like this.. and my ghost shrimp should take care of it.





Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilde View Post
If you have the cash I would go with the Ray planted LED.

If you don't have the cash here are some that may work with the light you have. Eleocharis acicularis, Echinodorus tenellus, Lilaeopsis brasiliensis, Sagittaria subulata

Check out plantfinder and click on placement option for my ideas.
cool site, that will come in handy, thanks Hilde. Wasnt sure which you suggested sense u said Ray planted? lol


1- So I am thinking of either another planted plus or ray2.. If another planted plus will take me to high light I would rather get a planted plus.. but if it wont.. then i would get a ray 2.. Suggestions?

2 - If I do get a ray2 what would i expect in algee burst??
llayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 01:35 AM   #51
Hilde
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hilde's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mableton, GA
Posts: 4,526
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by llayz View Post
Wasnt sure which you suggested sense u said Ray planted?
Finnex Fuge Ray Planted Plus. Finnex LED Light Fixtures here
Hilde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 08:52 AM   #52
llayz
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Fountain Valley
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilde View Post
Finnex Fuge Ray Planted Plus. Finnex LED Light Fixtures here
will this put me in high light with 2? i was researching the pars.. and it seems i will only get 30ish par with 1.. 60 enter medium light right?
llayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 05:35 AM   #53
llayz
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Fountain Valley
Posts: 131
Default

So I just placed my order with the ray2 I will post photos once i get it.. thanks for the hlep guys.. can't wait for the growth..

I've been thinking about adding in my diyc02 but scared of algee
llayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 12:50 AM   #54
Hilde
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hilde's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mableton, GA
Posts: 4,526
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by llayz View Post
I've been thinking about adding in my diyc02 but scared of algee
It won't give you algae.
Hilde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 04:05 AM   #55
llayz
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Fountain Valley
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilde View Post
It won't give you algae.
It did on my 30g but maybe because I left the light on too much. I'll give it a shot once the ray 2 gets here
llayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 05:01 AM   #56
Hilde
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hilde's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mableton, GA
Posts: 4,526
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by llayz View Post
It did on my 30g but maybe because I left the light on too much. I'll give it a shot once the ray 2 gets here
As there is an increase in light, there must also be a proportionate increase in CO2 and nutrients - aquaticcommunity. From this info seems that you probably didn't have enough Co2 for the light intensity.
Hilde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 10:49 AM   #57
llayz
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Fountain Valley
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilde View Post
As there is an increase in light, there must also be a proportionate increase in CO2 and nutrients - aquaticcommunity. From this info seems that you probably didn't have enough Co2 for the light intensity.
great read thanks hilde!!
llayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 11:01 AM   #58
llayz
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Fountain Valley
Posts: 131
Default

Today I did a water change and it was weird, my water was a bit yellowish, im guessing its from the wood pieces in the MGOPM. So I cleaned out my filter since I assumed it was crazy dirty and bam it was.. wood pieces and dirt/sand all over the place. I did a 50% water change and also added some carbon in the canister.

I also hooked up my DIY Co2 today to complement my new ray2 light.



Co2 Mix
2 cups sugar
1/2 tbsp yeast
1/2 tbsp baking soda





I got my Ray 2 today and my first impression was damn what a difference, the tank is way way better lit now with the ray 2. I notice that the Circuit board with the LEDs would be on the full bar like the planted plus, but it is short by maybe 3 inch on each side? a little disappointed about that but I'm sure its bright enough as it is.I tired to get a picture of it on and off but it looks the same while the planted plus is running because of the auto adjustment.. But here is a picture with the Ray2 and Planted+

Last edited by llayz; 04-18-2014 at 01:51 PM.. Reason: ..
llayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 01:52 PM   #59
llayz
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Fountain Valley
Posts: 131
Default

Does anyone know where the best place to put the defuser? Its currently in the front right of the tank right under the filter outlet stream.

how long should I leave my light on? I currently leaving it on about 13 hours, but I know i will need to adjust once the Co2 starts pumping.
llayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 02:03 PM   #60
Chris_Produces
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Chris_Produces's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 404
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by llayz View Post
Does anyone know where the best place to put the defuser? Its currently in the front right of the tank right under the filter outlet stream.

how long should I leave my light on? I currently leaving it on about 13 hours, but I know i will need to adjust once the Co2 starts pumping.
13 hours If I did that, I would have algae problems like a "you know what." I run pressurized co2 and run my med/high-high light setup roughly 9hrs a day at most. My tank though, is packed with way more stem plants and just plants in general, compared to where your tank is at with it being new.

Are you going to use a drop checker?
__________________
Chris_Produces is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012