How long will it take to seed a filter in an establishd tank
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2014, 12:28 AM   #1
Shremph
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 107
Default

How long will it take to seed a filter in an establishd tank


I am starting a few new tanks and I have a spare filter that I will pass to each of the new tanks as I set them up along with plants and hardscape.

I jut placed an AC 50 on an established tank and I was wondering how long I should wait to move the filter. All the media including foam pads are brand new.

I could add some bio media from my canisters if it takes too long I guess.

Quote:
Shremph is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-05-2014, 01:04 AM   #2
lauraleellbp
Fresh Fish Freak
 
lauraleellbp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (70/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 24,229
Default

I'd give it a few weeks.

When you go to set up a new tank, I'd also do a big vacuum on your established tank, pour off most of the water, and keep the leftover mulm to lay underneath the new substrate in your new tank.

That should pretty much cycle the new tank from the get-go, though of course I'd keep a close eye on the parameters for the first few weeks while everything stabilizes.
__________________
Tampa Bay Aquarium Society - Next meeting Monday, Sept 8, 2014 @ 7:15pm- See ya there!
TBAS Annual Fish Auction - November 1st!!

lauraleellbp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 03:49 AM   #3
Shremph
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 107
Default

I never thought of that vacuum technique. I will try it. I will also stop being lazy and crack open a canister and switch out some biomax.

Thank you
Shremph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 03:34 PM   #4
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,238
Default

Think of it this way:
No matter how many tanks you have, or how many filters, you only have X amount of fish.
The bacteria to handle the waste of these fish will not increase in population just because you add another filter. Some bacteria will grow in the new filter, but then there is a bit less in the old filter.
When you take off that filter you are removing some of the bacteria that were processing the waste from those fish. Watch out for ammonia spikes from that donor tank.

Here are 2 ways I have done this:
1) Take no more than 25% of the filter media from a well cycled tank and put this in the filter of a new tank. Then do the fishless cycle to build from that beginning.

2) Split an established tank like this:
Old tank: Keeps all its hardscape and plants, but donated the entire filter. Half the fish go, too. This tank gets the new filter.
New tank: Gets all new hardscape and plants, but gets the well established filter. It gets half the fish.
Then both tanks are monitored and populations are built up as the plants and bacteria establish themselves.

More ways:
a) Do the fishless cycle on all the new tanks without any starter media.
b) Add Nitrospira species of bacteria to the new tanks. Read the ingredients on the bottled bacteria products. If it does not include Nitrospira do not waste your money. Depending on how much you add this could be an instant cycle, or you could dose less and grow out the population with the fishless cycle.
c) Share some media from the established tank and dose it also with Nitrospira to make up for the bacteria you have taken.
d) Plant REALLY HEAVILY and stock moderately. If the plants hit the ground running they will be all the bio filtration a new tank needs. They will bring in some bacteria on their leaves, stems and roots, and the plants themselves will remove a significant amount of ammonia. Gotta make sure the plants are really growing well, though.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 06:51 PM   #5
ctaylor3737
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (31/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 807
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diana View Post
Think of it this way:
No matter how many tanks you have, or how many filters, you only have X amount of fish.
The bacteria to handle the waste of these fish will not increase in population just because you add another filter. Some bacteria will grow in the new filter, but then there is a bit less in the old filter.
When you take off that filter you are removing some of the bacteria that were processing the waste from those fish. Watch out for ammonia spikes from that donor tank.

Here are 2 ways I have done this:
1) Take no more than 25% of the filter media from a well cycled tank and put this in the filter of a new tank. Then do the fishless cycle to build from that beginning.

2) Split an established tank like this:
Old tank: Keeps all its hardscape and plants, but donated the entire filter. Half the fish go, too. This tank gets the new filter.
New tank: Gets all new hardscape and plants, but gets the well established filter. It gets half the fish.
Then both tanks are monitored and populations are built up as the plants and bacteria establish themselves.

More ways:
a) Do the fishless cycle on all the new tanks without any starter media.
b) Add Nitrospira species of bacteria to the new tanks. Read the ingredients on the bottled bacteria products. If it does not include Nitrospira do not waste your money. Depending on how much you add this could be an instant cycle, or you could dose less and grow out the population with the fishless cycle.
c) Share some media from the established tank and dose it also with Nitrospira to make up for the bacteria you have taken.
d) Plant REALLY HEAVILY and stock moderately. If the plants hit the ground running they will be all the bio filtration a new tank needs. They will bring in some bacteria on their leaves, stems and roots, and the plants themselves will remove a significant amount of ammonia. Gotta make sure the plants are really growing well, though.

Definantly spot on advice, either way there is,usually some sort of swing as the tank catches up. Much easier just to wait it out,and don't rush it.

-Chris
ctaylor3737 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 10:10 PM   #6
discuspaul
Planted Tank Guru
 
discuspaul's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 2,156
Default

As usual Diana, you provide excellent advice.
discuspaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 02:21 AM   #7
Shremph
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 107
Default

Thank you for all the help.

Sent from my Nexus 5
Shremph is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012