Power Strip with Multiple Timed Outlets
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-02-2014, 02:52 PM   #1
GoJoeGo
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 5
Default

Power Strip with Multiple Timed Outlets


Does anyone know of a good multi-outlet power strip with multiple programmable timers? This is the basic idea (
Link to Amazon Link to Amazon
) but I cannot find one that allows me to set a unique timer profile for each individual outlet.
GoJoeGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-02-2014, 03:45 PM   #2
Ashok
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 273
Default

I've searched for one and the only system I could find is the Neptune Apex system.
Ashok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 03:50 PM   #3
scapegoat
Planted Tank Guru
 
scapegoat's Avatar
 
PTrader: (15/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: philadelphia, pa
Posts: 2,220
Default

If you're interested, a bunch of folks are doing DIY aquarium controllers to kind of handle this problem (along with dosing ferts daily)

if you're programmatically/electronic engineering inclined that might be for you.
__________________
scapegoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 04:50 PM   #4
bsantucci
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 575
Default

Yeah you're talking about a controller, so you need to do Apex or an Arduino build.
bsantucci is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 10:57 AM   #5
MKNguyenV2
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 28
Default

I too have been searching for one of these for quite some time now.
__________________
Fluval Edge 6.6gal - RCS Tank - Hi Tech Planted
40gal Breeder - Torpical community - Low tech Planted

o Have a Magical Day o
MKNguyenV2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 12:05 PM   #6
aquarist
Wannabe Guru
 
aquarist's Avatar
 
PTrader: (25/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,383
Default

Unless you want to run 220v to where you aquarium is you are going to be limited to a controller, either Apex or Reefkeeper. But if you wanted to run 220v ( I will be in my house to my fish room ) there is an awesome timer from China for around $25.

aquarist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 12:46 PM   #7
gSTiTcH
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
gSTiTcH's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 838
Default

Why not build one? You can make a power board with outlets and timers from supplies at any Home Depot. You can also have a master kill switch for filters/heaters as well as a second MAIN switch if you needed to fully de-energize the tank.

I did that with my tank and I love it for the convenience when I do water changes. Flip one switch and shut down all filters/heaters while leaving the lights on.
__________________
RAOK Club #105

Pay It Forward, Further the Community!

It's CO2. See-Oh-Two. Not C02 (see-zero-two).
gSTiTcH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 02:22 PM   #8
aquarist
Wannabe Guru
 
aquarist's Avatar
 
PTrader: (25/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,383
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gSTiTcH View Post
Why not build one? You can make a power board with outlets and timers from supplies at any Home Depot. You can also have a master kill switch for filters/heaters as well as a second MAIN switch if you needed to fully de-energize the tank.

I did that with my tank and I love it for the convenience when I do water changes. Flip one switch and shut down all filters/heaters while leaving the lights on.
Any pictures? And do you know about what it cost you to build? I was about to build some 1 foot extension cords but it would've cost me way more than to just buy them, so I am just curious about your build. I will be automating another one of my aquariums and would be interested in using this idea if feasible.
aquarist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 03:13 PM   #9
TekWarren
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Twin lake, MI
Posts: 742
Default

This might be my inner IT nerd talking but...I'd like to see something programmable/controllable/monitoring via wifi with multiple outlets that can be individually set with timers. Something not ugly and clunky though... I'm in IT but not an electronics expert so I don't think I could tackle building something like this.
TekWarren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 04:10 PM   #10
aquarist
Wannabe Guru
 
aquarist's Avatar
 
PTrader: (25/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,383
Default

Apex and reefkeeper controllers can both be connected to your home wifi or LAN.

I own a Reefkeeper system and it does a bunch of thing it's not just a timer, with a little imagination and the right modules you can make it do practically anything you want. Just an example of how it is more than just a timer, you can connect a temperature probe to the system, and then plug your heater into it, if the heater ever malfunctions (usually always on) it will cut power to the heater and not cook your fish. You can also expand the system to fit you needs with added modules, yes they cost a little bit of cash but I feel with what you can do with this system, if you are into automation, would be well worth the price tag.

I know you can do the same thing with the Apex controller I just don't own that one so cannot say anything about it. They are about the same price range, the Apex seems more user friendly and more flashy, the reefkeeper is plain but works for everything I want it to do.

Here are some links to Apex, Reefkeeper, and to DIY controllers:

Apex:
http://www.neptunesystems.com/

ReefKeeper: (Their website is horrible, but if you call them they will spend plenty of time explaining everything)
http://www.digitalaquatics.com/

Homemade:
http://www.aquariumcontroller.net/diy.html

There are a ton of youtube videos out there with people showing how they built their controller as well.

Last edited by aquarist; 04-04-2014 at 04:29 PM.. Reason: ..
aquarist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 05:17 PM   #11
prighello
Shrimp Bane
 
prighello's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Napa, Ca
Posts: 486
Default

Looking for this as well. All the ones I see at Home Depot etc only have one set of controls. You'd think in this day and age these things would be readily available; not $$$ reef controllers.
prighello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 05:37 PM   #12
bpizzuto
Algae Grower
 
bpizzuto's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 111
Default

I found this one: And only 21.99

APC
6 Outlet Green Surge Protector 1080 Joules with LCD Timer and 3 Foot Cord - White.

Saves power by automatically turning equipment ON and OFF based on six preset time programs. Select the exact time and day of the week that your equipment receives power from the "Controlled by Timer" outlets and prevent unnecessary electricity waste. Most other surge suppressors continue to let power through even after their circuits have been damaged, leaving your equipment exposed to future surges. APCs SurgeArrest fail, SurgeArrest components such as MOVs and Thermal fuse ensure instantaneous reaction to lightning strikes and wiring faults. If the surge components are damaged due to power spike or over voltage, excess power cannot reach your equipment. Unlike the APC SurgeArrest products, most surge suppressors continue to let power through even after circuits have been damaged, leaving your equipment exposed to other damaging surges. safe, which means that once the circuit of an APC SurgeArrest has been compromised the unit disconnects equipment from the power supply ensuring that no damaging surges reach your equipment.
bpizzuto is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 06:56 PM   #13
aquarist
Wannabe Guru
 
aquarist's Avatar
 
PTrader: (25/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,383
Default

Sounds like that will have all the outlets that are timed on a single timer. Similar to other models out there. They will often have 2-3 outlet that work on the same timer, and then the rest are constant on outlets.

These are good options if you have several devices to turn on at once. But if you wanted something like a power strip that had each outlet on a separate timer you would need something else.
aquarist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012