k1 filter?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2014, 12:09 AM   #1
Jesseter
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Valpo, IN
Posts: 105
Default

k1 filter?


So I tried to do a k1 media filter. I don't know if I drilled to many holes in the top or what , but the k1 isn't moving around like it does it other videos. Any suggestions?

Thanks!!
Jesseter is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-22-2014, 01:30 AM   #2
Bryanmc1988
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (34/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego - CA
Posts: 876
Default

i think it needs space to move doesnt it and isnt it better to have the flow coming in from the bottom? that way it keeps the k1 from sticking to the corner or trap at the bottom?
Bryanmc1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 03:46 AM   #3
limz_777
Planted Member
 
limz_777's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: globe
Posts: 274
Default

any pics?
limz_777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 02:31 PM   #4
LionelC
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 34
Default

Pics and or video! I have been wanting to build one for a long time.


LionelC
LionelC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 05:05 PM   #5
Jesseter
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Valpo, IN
Posts: 105
Default

So doing a little more research I found that it may be the shape of the bottle. Thinking of going with a Fiji bottle. Also found it may take a day or two before the k1 really moves. Sorry no pics or video.
Jesseter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2014, 07:47 AM   #6
j30167
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Flushing New York
Posts: 38
Default

forgot who put it up but there is a video on youtube he used a 2 liter soda bottle
j30167 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2014, 10:15 AM   #7
Sgchick
Algae Grower
 
Sgchick's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Los altos, CA
Posts: 27
Default

From some of the you tube videos I've watched, they all say it takes a day or two before all the k1 is moving around. Also only fill the bottle a little more than half way up with k1.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesseter View Post
So doing a little more research I found that it may be the shape of the bottle. Thinking of going with a Fiji bottle. Also found it may take a day or two before the k1 really moves. Sorry no pics or video.
Sgchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 01:02 PM   #8
Jesseter
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Valpo, IN
Posts: 105
Default

Just an update. Got it up and running from the new design. The original container was a more rectangular bottle. The square Fiji bottle did the trick. It's moving really nice now. May add a little more k1 once it really get's going. I only added just under half the bottle. It's amazing what a few design flaws will screw up. Thanks to everyone who responded. I gotta say I love this forum!!
Jesseter is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012