Thinking RO?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2014, 05:57 PM   #1
Jesseter
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Valpo, IN
Posts: 107
Default

Thinking RO?


Hey everyone. I am assuming this is going to be a repeating theme here. I just got my tax refund and am thinking of getting a RO Unit. As I was browsing I came across this unit BRS 4 Stage RO ONLY System - 75GPD . How easy are they to install? I have 200+TDS (Hard Water) how often will I have to change filters? Thanks everyone!
Jesseter is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-08-2014, 07:32 PM   #2
jmowbray
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Standish, MI.
Posts: 1,826
Default

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...970&highlight=
jmowbray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 11:41 PM   #3
jrman83
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: White Plains, MD
Posts: 1,000
Default

If you really think you need it...personally with that high of TDS I would go with RODI.

There are many places to get decent systems...bulk reef supply, airwaterice,

You just have to decide on how many gallons per day rated system you will need. The performance of these systems is dependent on the pressure of your tap. If you have low pressure you many need a booster pump. Basically, if you bought a 100gpd system and your tap pressure was low, you may not get the 100gpd performance out of the system. Just something you have to consider.
__________________
Eheim Pimp #448
jrman83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 06:41 PM   #4
kevreh
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 53
Default

I can see a charcoal filter, but isn't RO overkill for freshwater? If you use charcoal in your canister filter this will remove impurities. I would spend the $ elsewhere.
kevreh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 06:44 PM   #5
jmowbray
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Standish, MI.
Posts: 1,826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevreh View Post
I can see a charcoal filter, but isn't RO overkill for freshwater? If you use charcoal in your canister filter this will remove impurities. I would spend the $ elsewhere.
For most yes. But if you have breeding tanks or discus tank you should have RO and possibly RO/DI. I have a unit for my SW reef so I just make RO/DI for the SW and RO for the FW tanks

Last edited by jmowbray; 03-12-2014 at 09:37 PM.. Reason: spelling
jmowbray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 07:06 PM   #6
jrman83
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: White Plains, MD
Posts: 1,000
Default

What's being discussed here is bringing down the mineral content not purifying the water. Charcoal doesn't suffice.
__________________
Eheim Pimp #448
jrman83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012