Diatoms/ brown algae.
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2014, 04:18 AM   #1
emmynk
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 51
Default

Diatoms/ brown algae.


This stuff is brutal. It strangled all my plants in my 20gal, couldn't bring in a cleanup crew because its my axolotl tank. Now its causing problems in my 10 gal. But anyways, I'm going to replant the tanks and give proper lighting this time so hopefully it can outcompete.. should I test for silicate? I don't have the test kit for that.. and its about 20 bucks... I mean I'll do it if I have to. But do you guys have any tips on eradicating it? I'm thinking PhosZorb , but I don't really like putting something in my tank that I don't know what's in it/what is being released into the water/ how it works. Can anyone explain Phoszorb?
Thanks guys!! I love this forum.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
emmynk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-18-2014, 10:08 PM   #2
greenteam
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
greenteam's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Boyton Beach, FL
Posts: 598
Default

Diatoms are a normal stage in new tanks. I never do anything other then wait and allow the tank to settle in. One thing I notice was that a strong current really slows down it;s growth. Try and improve the flow of the tank and should help.

"They form the base of aquatic food webs in marine and freshwater habitats."
__________________
ROAK Club # 129
greenteam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 10:33 PM   #3
Bushkill
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bushkill, Pa
Posts: 972
Default

Seachem Phosguard works well. It has alumina in it to bind the silicates. I tried it as an experiment in a 65G and it really does work well. I've battled diatoms for years and I do WC like a fiend. I have tons of tanks to get it into and I'll get to all of them.
__________________
Angelo
Bushkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 11:44 PM   #4
Chulios66
Planted Member
 
Chulios66's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Filer,ID
Posts: 265
Default

I hate brown algae, it killed my first few aquarium fish. I guess it took much oxygen when I was gone so the fish died because of a power failure. I have been battling it for 3 years and I still am to this day.
Chulios66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 12:23 AM   #5
TDerivan
Algae Grower
 
TDerivan's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Eastern NC
Posts: 137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenteam View Post
Diatoms are a normal stage in new tanks. I never do anything other then wait and allow the tank to settle in. One thing I notice was that a strong current really slows down it;s growth. Try and improve the flow of the tank and should help.

"They form the base of aquatic food webs in marine and freshwater habitats."
Same here. If I leave it alone it goes away in a week or two.
TDerivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 03:29 AM   #6
emmynk
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 51
Default

See but I've had this tank since June ;( I believe my areas water is high in silicates so that might be a majority of the problem.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
emmynk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 06:58 AM   #7
Hardstuff
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: mesa
Posts: 445
Default

I have been having a problem in a heavily planted 10 gallon tank that is mature. Its been running for over a year. The tank has been doing well but over the last few months I am getting diatoms on most of the plants. I do have uncoated gravel in that tank at the bottom coated with a layer of Flourite on top with Laterite.

I was wondering if the uncoated gravel is leaching silicates out. Another issue may be I have a few rocks in the tank with Anubias growing on them. Maybe the rocks are leaching as well. I also made a silicone sealant based CO2 reactor as well. Another theory I have is , disturbing mature substrates can cause algae blooms why not diatomic blooms as well? I have been vacuuming more lately. It seems after making the reactor I developed more diatoms but who knows?

I may try the perigan, but the way I look at it is : If there is a constant source of PO4 or Silicates they will never totally go away!
Hardstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 02:01 PM   #8
Warlock
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Warlock's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Austin
Posts: 884
Default

i upped water changes to daily (>50%.. and it went away..
Warlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 02:05 AM   #9
emmynk
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 51
Default

Mine still won't go away...luckily haven't killed plants but its very ugly..

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
emmynk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 04:53 AM   #10
Solcielo lawrencia
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,370
Default

It sounds like you aren't fertilizing. Otherwise, you may have very high organics fueling the growth.
Solcielo lawrencia is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012