Substrate - Page 3
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-12-2003, 03:13 AM   #31
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

Flourite here. But I would guess that rinsing Laterite would be a real chore. Wash it out, let it dry, repeat.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-12-2003, 09:27 PM   #32
SNPiccolo5
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
SNPiccolo5's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 859
Default

I meant laterite when I said laterite and flourite when I said flourite.

Rex, what do you mean don't stir flourite when rinsing? Maybe I missed something, but I don't get how to rinse it otherwise....

-Tim
__________________
Tank in transition! 55 gallons, hard water.
SNPiccolo5 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2003, 09:50 PM   #33
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

I put half a bag in a Rubbermaid tub. I use a hose end sprayer, the older brass type that you adjust by turning the body. I get a good spray going with it and just rinse the Flourite that way. I use the water pressure to keep it moving. I rinse till the tub is full then pour out the water, being careful not to lose the fines. Then I repeat. With normal Flourite I can usually get the stuff clean enough to use in three passes.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2003, 12:43 AM   #34
Massoor
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to Massoor
Default

I getting confused.. I have a 55gallon tank, thus I would need 50 piunds of gravel(more or less). I plan on having it planted but nmot to densely because this being my first tank ever. Should i use only flourite for the substrate? OR should i buy one 25lb bag of flourite and one 25lb bag of gravel?

P.S would i mix the too, or just put one on bottome and other on top like in a layer fashion?
Massoor is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2003, 01:28 AM   #35
mitche8359
Algae Grower
 
mitche8359's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 116
Default

Ok what I was doing was basically the same but I also stirred it around the bucket as if I was panning gold. I still haven't added any to the tank. I just located some sand that I used for making a potting mix. I don't think it's play sand, most likely sand for mortar. Anyone know if it makes a difference? I finally got some fert sticks at lunch so I'm going to work on the substrate tonight.
__________________
Tom

55 g ~ 404 Fluval Canister ~ 110w 6400k photoperiod 8 hours at the end of the day
10 g quaratine/hospital
mitche8359 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2003, 01:32 AM   #36
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

Massoor you are going to need a lot more than 50 lbs of gravel. I used three bags of Flourite and about 40-45 lbs of gravel in my 55 and I wish I had gotten four bags of Flourite. I mixed my gravel and Flourite and love the look of it. Flourite comes in 15 lb bags so plan on at least three bags. You can mix Flourite with gravel up to a 50/50 ratio. But it's not based on weight but on volume.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2003, 01:57 AM   #37
Massoor
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to Massoor
Default

So for my 55gal what would be just about perfect? how many bag of flouride(what size too?) and how much gravel? i lookingf or to buy some natural gravel. thanks a bunch
Massoor is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2003, 07:18 AM   #38
aquaphish
Wannabe Guru
 
aquaphish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (53/98%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Some where in SOCAL
Posts: 1,638
Default

If you read on the laterite instructions it indicates to rinse the stuff. You need to get out as much of the fine dust in the package. Laterite is really a mess to use because it is so light and when you disturb the substrate you will have cloudy water for days, especially if you don't rinse it out. That process takes a while. When I used it I placed it in a 5 gal. bucket and just filled the bucket with water. Then you want to lower the water pressure and just trickle it into the bucket so it will overflow slowly. At the same time gently stir up the laterite to release the fine sand and when you have a fairly clear water you can then mix it with some of the gravel. You won't get the rinse water to clear up completley but just get most of the dirt out. But it will give you some Iron content the plant need.

You want to place the laterite/gravel on the bottom and then about 1-1.5 inches of pure gravel on top. That will prevent the laterite from getting into the water column and cloud the water.

You will not have a very clear tank for a few days because there is still some fine dust that you won't remove from the rinse process. But it will clear up with in a few days and sometimes a few weeks. I would also make weekly water changes to help the clearing process.
aquaphish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2003, 02:07 PM   #39
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

Massoor, get no less than three bags of Flourite. It only comes in 15 pound bags so that is not a problem. Then get 50 lbs of small 1-2 mm gravel. Wash it all, mix it all, put it in the tank. If you want more then add another bag of Flourite. Also put about 4 cups of ground peat moss in the very bottom of the tank. It really makes a difference.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2003, 10:22 PM   #40
jart
Wannabe Guru
 
jart's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NS Canada
Posts: 1,372
Default

before i had some flourite special ordered i was thinking about using laterite. since the tank is already torn down i had considered adding the laterite to the bottom of the tank, then placing an udergravel filter plate over the laterite. i figured the ugf plate would merely serve to hold the laterite in place ie prevent it from clouding the water when moving plants around. anyway i probably won't go this route, but i thought i would post this to see if any of you had any thoughts on whether it might work.

of yeah, the ugf wouldn't actually be hooked up, of course...
jart is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2003, 10:36 PM   #41
Buck
Planted Tank VIP
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lebanon, CT
Posts: 4,939
Default

You are begging for trouble if use that UGF plate.... hooked up or not in a planted tank.
It defetes the rooting systems of plants and if it isnt hooked up it is a biological time bomb.

Been There ... Done That... Removed That :hehe:
__________________
Buck is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2003, 10:45 PM   #42
jart
Wannabe Guru
 
jart's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NS Canada
Posts: 1,372
Default

hmmmm... thanks buck.

though i can't really see why it would be a time bomb. especially if there's no water flow per se. i can't see how it would be much different than, say, some tightly packed rocks.

man i once had a gorgeous tank full of crypts at one time with the filter plate in place. of course, this was probably more of a fluke than anything else.

cannot type any more... keyboard is getting clogged by mdf dust.

buck were you not going to post some pics today?
regards,

jart
jart is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-16-2003, 08:40 PM   #43
Buck
Planted Tank VIP
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lebanon, CT
Posts: 4,939
Default

The " Time Bomb " comes with any UGF Filter that does not circulate properly.
The whole premice to a UGF is that the water is constantly being "filtered" by the bacteria bed in the substrate.
Even with good water flow through the substrate(front to back of plate) you had to keep the fish mulm vaccumed or it would plug areas in the plate. That build up you get is the Bomb I speak of. If you have ever taken down a tank that has an improperly working UGF you would SMELL what I mean !
There is no bacteria in the world that can catch up to that mess.
So now with a planted tank you have the roots that will take care of such toxic substrate buildups BUT the roots cannot get there because they are bound up by the UGF plate. This can happen very quickly too.
Those 1/2" gaps under the plate now become sealed and very toxic just waiting to be released.
Now one day you decide to "uproot" some old plants and try something new...
Wellguess what ...
you have just released those evil fish killing GASES ! :fire:

I have always used and LOVED UGF's but in the planted world they have no place I have learned.
The only disappointment in my 23 years of fishkeeping is that I didnt plant my tanks all along !

:hehe: :hehe:
__________________
Buck is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In need to an inexpensive substrate solution aeternum23 Substrate 27 02-11-2010 08:44 PM
Poop on substrate soil/rock/sand mitchell2345 Substrate 9 08-10-2004 02:29 AM
help - worms in substrate: 10mm rectanglar head transparent + 2mm white oldguy General Planted Tank Discussion 3 07-29-2004 07:25 PM
New Substrate Over Existing Substrate g8wayg8r Substrate 3 12-24-2003 08:44 PM
Nutrients in Substrate aquaphish General Planted Tank Discussion 6 03-10-2003 02:48 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012