Filter Medium
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2003, 11:18 PM   #1
Davo
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 23
Default

I have just bought a 2nd hand Eheim 2213 for my 120g tank. I already have an Eheim 2228 Professional on the tank. What does everyone use as a medium for their filters.

My 2228 is set up as how Eheim suggests, ceramic noodles, efhisubstrat, filter pads etc. I was just wondering if I could just put all filter pads in the 2213 to save buying the expensive Eheim mediums as I have plenty of filter padding spare.

Any Info appreciated,
Dave
Sydney
Australia.
Davo is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-28-2003, 11:45 PM   #2
m.lemay
Planted Tank Guru
 
m.lemay's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Naugatuck, CT.
Posts: 2,647
Default

filter padding will work fine. No need for all that other stuff.

Marcel
__________________
FILSTAR Pimp #2

75 gal heavily planted,50/50 Black beauty,Eco-complete substrate, Pressurised CO2 with solenoid, ph controller, AB Reactor 1000, 330 watts 9325K GE PC lighting,Ehiem Liquidoser, 2-Filstar xp3 canisters.
m.lemay is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-16-2004, 08:48 PM   #3
PlantsthenFish
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 12
Default

I have a penguin filter on the back of my 20G.....its still a new tank (three weeks) and I am using the insert, problem is I just found out none of you guys use AC......what can I put in the penguin as a good filter medium. I am thinking of leaving the insert in there and just waiting for the AC to become unactivated and filling up the pack with some peat moss and some bioballs or something else for bacteria. Or can I run it clean for just some circulation.
__________________
If at first you don't succeed, give up, all hope is lost.
PlantsthenFish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Here's a great how to lorax Riparium/Terrarium/Vivarium 3 06-09-2009 01:24 AM
Unusual application - Perlite as a filter medium PlantView DIY 10 04-25-2004 05:14 AM
Filter Medium - Help PlantsthenFish Equipment 7 03-18-2004 03:50 PM
Best filter medium for DIY Filter jeffreyrichard Ponds 3 03-12-2004 03:29 PM
How to Prime a Filter anonapersona Equipment 2 02-01-2004 08:47 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012