well crude..
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Shrimp & Other Invertebrates


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2014, 07:35 AM   #1
shrimpcrazy00
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Madill, Oklahoma
Posts: 564
Default

well crude..


I thought I had everything golden.. until I did a water change and tested the water...
Nitrate&nitrite 0
PH 0
And then the kicker..
Ammonia 1.0

Haven't fed in 3 days... besides a green bean I had to take out they didn't like it... I currently have a oak leaf that I found outside I boiled it for over a hour to soften it up...

Any idea what is causing the ammonia ? Is it the oak leaf ? Sense my ghost shrimp are really active should I worry all that much?

I included a pic of my tank that I just took....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20140131_010852_997_zpseed26hfg.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	101.5 KB
ID:	267833  

__________________
10g Snail Tank, 10g Marmokreb Tank, 10g Goldfish Tank (at the moment), 20g metaframe tank (will be Marmokreb tank when its fixed)
shrimpcrazy00 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-31-2014, 08:27 AM   #2
wicca27
Planted Tank Guru
 
wicca27's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dewey
Posts: 4,817
Send a message via Yahoo to wicca27
Default

well for starters you ph cant be 0. if you have ammo and no nitrate or nitrite then im going to say its a cycle or mini cycle. ammo can and will kill shrimp. what are you using to test the water strips of liquid? also what were the readings before the change? always test before a water change not after. reading can and normally are different 24 hours after doing a change
wicca27 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2014, 03:10 PM   #3
shrimpcrazy00
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Madill, Oklahoma
Posts: 564
Default

Well pH says 0... its a master test kit lil tubes and bottles and such lol... I'll test again later tonight and post results.
__________________
10g Snail Tank, 10g Marmokreb Tank, 10g Goldfish Tank (at the moment), 20g metaframe tank (will be Marmokreb tank when its fixed)
shrimpcrazy00 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2014, 03:15 PM   #4
cfosgate
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 22
Default

It does sound like a mini cycle although it's also likely your test kit is bad. How old is the test kit?
__________________
Using Tapatalk
cfosgate is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2014, 03:24 PM   #5
sbarbee54
The Security Dude
 
sbarbee54's Avatar
 
PTrader: (109/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Badlands
Posts: 4,233
Default

PH cant read 0... not possible
__________________
55 Planted Rummys,2 GBR,8 Corys,4 Discus PFR Culls
Many shrimp tanks
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...half-done.html
Finnex Pimp #8
sbarbee54 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2014, 03:27 PM   #6
shrimpcrazy00
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Madill, Oklahoma
Posts: 564
Default lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbarbee54 View Post
PH cant read 0... not possible
My bad tested the pH again... its 7.2
__________________
10g Snail Tank, 10g Marmokreb Tank, 10g Goldfish Tank (at the moment), 20g metaframe tank (will be Marmokreb tank when its fixed)
shrimpcrazy00 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2014, 03:47 PM   #7
Hobbes1911
Wannabe Guru
 
Hobbes1911's Avatar
 
PTrader: (19/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,515
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbarbee54 View Post
PH cant read 0... not possible
Well you actually can, but not in our conditions. Also if your kit reads drastically different results over several tests I'd recommend getting a new kit.
Hobbes1911 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2014, 05:08 PM   #8
mjbn
Wannabe Guru
 
mjbn's Avatar
 
PTrader: (21/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: US
Posts: 1,290
Default

It's not possible to get a reading of 0 with our test kits though.. The lowest the API test kit can read is 6.0. There is no way possible to get 0 pH on this test.

I'm not sure if this question has been addressed in one if your previous threads and I'm not gonna go fishing for it but how long has the tank been running/cycling? With only that small amount of moss, i dont believe nitrates can be 0 if it is cycled completely. Most likely option from the information you've provided is that the tank just isnt cycled.


Or are you getting tests mixed up? Re-do them and make sure ammonia and nitrate are separated to distinguish between them. It may be ammonia 0, nitrate 10 which would make a bit more sense.
mjbn is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2014, 05:09 PM   #9
ChadO
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 226
Default

There is a link you can search for that will tell you the code for your API kit and what the expiration date is. I think the new sets got ride of the code and now just print out a normal expiration date
ChadO is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2014, 06:24 PM   #10
wicca27
Planted Tank Guru
 
wicca27's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dewey
Posts: 4,817
Send a message via Yahoo to wicca27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChadO View Post
There is a link you can search for that will tell you the code for your API kit and what the expiration date is. I think the new sets got ride of the code and now just print out a normal expiration date
i can verify the new bottles have a date on them. just got my kit first of the month and its dated.

i have a feeling its mini cycle or just not cycled. or .... are you using a dechlor like prime when you do water changes? Im betting since you have had food in there and the moss,shrimp, and leaf your cycle is just no starting right.
wicca27 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2014, 06:32 PM   #11
shrimpcrazy00
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Madill, Oklahoma
Posts: 564
Default

Well my tank has only been up and running for about a month now lol
__________________
10g Snail Tank, 10g Marmokreb Tank, 10g Goldfish Tank (at the moment), 20g metaframe tank (will be Marmokreb tank when its fixed)
shrimpcrazy00 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2014, 06:56 PM   #12
shrimpcrazy00
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Madill, Oklahoma
Posts: 564
Default

Well my kit expires at the end of the year. But I'll be buying a new one before then. Any suggestions on which one I should get?
__________________
10g Snail Tank, 10g Marmokreb Tank, 10g Goldfish Tank (at the moment), 20g metaframe tank (will be Marmokreb tank when its fixed)
shrimpcrazy00 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2014, 07:22 PM   #13
mjbn
Wannabe Guru
 
mjbn's Avatar
 
PTrader: (21/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: US
Posts: 1,290
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrimpcrazy00 View Post
Well my tank has only been up and running for about a month now lol
So it is most likely uncycled.
mjbn is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2014, 08:12 PM   #14
shrimpcrazy00
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Madill, Oklahoma
Posts: 564
Default

I had a huge bacteria bloom 2 weeks ago or so... and I have been using start zyme made by jungle...
__________________
10g Snail Tank, 10g Marmokreb Tank, 10g Goldfish Tank (at the moment), 20g metaframe tank (will be Marmokreb tank when its fixed)
shrimpcrazy00 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2014, 08:17 PM   #15
mjbn
Wannabe Guru
 
mjbn's Avatar
 
PTrader: (21/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: US
Posts: 1,290
Default

That doesn't mean it's cycled though.? You should probably look up how to properly cycle a tank, it is pretty essential to having a successful shrimp tank, and to the hobby of having aquariums in general.
mjbn is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012