Filtration o.k. for a 150?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Low Tech Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2008, 06:40 PM   #1
cocugreek
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: chicago, ilinois
Posts: 7
Default

Filtration o.k. for a 150?


Hi all!
I want to quickly thank all of you for helping me save alot of money by spending it more wisely form the beginning. I started up a 55 successfully following the low tech "rules" from members like Mark (bastalker) and have growing plants and no algae. I'm now in the midst of converting my 150 (same footprint as a 125 but taller) to a similar low tech set up. There are many questions but we will start with one now. The present set up has 2 aquaclear 110's with central american cichlids. Can I keep these for the low tech planted set up? The lighting will be two 4' HOt5 strips at 108 wats each (there will slight overlap in the middle) so definately a low tech set up. I keep the water level high to avoid splashing. Should I be worried about outgassing in such a set up. No co2 will be added in the beginning.

Miguel
cocugreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-24-2008, 08:40 PM   #2
neilfishguy
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: manhatan ks
Posts: 476
Default

No way that is going to bee enough. You need at least 1500 gph and 2 1100s are not going to give that
neilfishguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 11:59 PM   #3
cocugreek
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: chicago, ilinois
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks for the quick response neilfishguy. I'm new to plants but maybe I've got this wrong. I was under the impression that I needn't follow the 10x turnover rate we use in saltwater or messy cichlid tanks. I thought the plants didn't like the over the top turbulance and also acted as natural filters themselves. I failed to mention the CA cichlids are already are out except for my 4" oscar that will get a 55 to himself after all is said and done. Are all of you overfiltering at 10x the tank volume per hour? Final stocking on the 150 will be 30 cardinals, 6 cories, 1 BN, 6-10 otos, and Angel fish pair and a dozen or so rainbow fish.

Thanks again!
cocugreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2008, 12:28 AM   #4
fshfanatic
Planted Tank Guru
 
fshfanatic's Avatar
 
PTrader: (24/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Arizona
Posts: 5,279
Default

I would venture to guess that neilfishguy is over shooting abit here. As much as I am a huge fan of way over filtering a tank you can get by with that fish load and the filters you have.

Look at my sig, my 180 is perfect and I am nowhere near 1500 gph. Same with my 125.
__________________
Ehfipimp #273 ( Eheim Classic: 2260, 2217, Eheim Ecco: 2236, 2232 ) Fluval FX5

fshfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012