Substrate cap
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2014, 03:59 PM   #1
greenteam
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
greenteam's Avatar
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Boyton Beach, FL
Posts: 645
Default

Substrate cap


I have a tank with flourite substrate and I want to cap it with Azoo Plant Grower, but I have been told that the smaller grains of the Azoo substrate will over time end up at the bottom of the tank while the bigger grains of the Flourite will rise to the top.

Anyone experience this? Am I setting myself up for failure if I want the azoo on top?
__________________
ROAK Club # 129
greenteam is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-20-2014, 08:25 PM   #2
alaskajeff
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Alaska
Posts: 164
Default

I have used Fluorite before and never capped it. Why do you feel this is necessary ? The problem I have with the whole idea of capping is that you are more than likely going to move plants around at some point. When you pull up a rooted plant you will be amazed at how extensive the root system can be. In other words, you are defiantly going to disturb the substrate layers. Its hard not to do this when you are just vacuuming the tank during a water change.
alaskajeff is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2014, 08:53 PM   #3
greenteam
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
greenteam's Avatar
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Boyton Beach, FL
Posts: 645
Default

It's a shrimp tank so mostly moss and the "root" plants are anubias and java ferns so nothing in the substrate. I want to add the new substrate to buffer the PH down.
__________________
ROAK Club # 129
greenteam is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2014, 05:58 AM   #4
wade0328
Planted Member
 
wade0328's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/80%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Sullivan, MO
Posts: 202
Default

Yeah, I was going to cap my fluorite and eco complete with sand but it would definitely mix so there was no point for me to do so.
__________________

wade0328 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2014, 10:04 PM   #5
lochaber
Planted Tank Guru
 
lochaber's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 2,161
Default

I don't really think there is any reason to cap flourite.

I actually use flourite for a cap on a dirted tank.
lochaber is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2014, 11:48 PM   #6
urbach
Planted Member
 
urbach's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Singapore, indonesia
Posts: 188
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenteam View Post
It's a shrimp tank so mostly moss and the "root" plants are anubias and java ferns so nothing in the substrate. I want to add the new substrate to buffer the PH down.
What kind of shrimp are you keeping? RCS? CRS? What PH are you having now and at what PH do you want to sustain?
urbach is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012