How to setup a RO filter system
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2014, 07:27 PM   #1
popytoys
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: San Mateo
Posts: 73
Default

How to setup a RO filter system


hi everyone,

Hope you would provide some info or experience how to setup a RO filter system.

I have been using hang on and external filter. And I also add the RO water from time to time into my shrimp tank. But now...I may think about just to setup a RO filter water system in order to save just little of work..but the most important is to maintain a steady water parameter for my shrimp tanks...

May I ask where to get a right equipment and how to set it up...I am not very handy

Thank you for your help

Takami CHiro
popytoys is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-11-2014, 07:32 PM   #2
Sean W.
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Claremont California
Posts: 512
Default

If you are looking for a proper RO/DI system, Bulk reef supply seems to be the only way to go. They have a 4 stage entry level system for like $120.

http://www.bulkreefsupply.com/brs-4-...tem-75gpd.html

I just purchased the API Water filter, im going to try it for a while to see if it does what i need it to, lower my GH and KH out of the tap, its something to look into, especially if you only have smaller tanks >40gallons

http://www.drsfostersmith.com/produc...=c&cagpspn=pla
Sean W. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 08:08 PM   #3
jmowbray
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Standish, MI.
Posts: 1,826
Default

I got mine from PureWater Club. It comes all setup are ready to go.
jmowbray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 03:13 AM   #4
Aqguy
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Ca.
Posts: 575
Default

Got mine at BRS #1
__________________
100g,75g,50g,40g,27g,10g
Aqguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 03:21 AM   #5
Texan78
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Texan78's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North Texas
Posts: 836
Default

+1 On the BRS systems.

They come with everything you could possible need to install it any way you need it. Very good package deal and very solid unit.
Texan78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 12:35 PM   #6
HUNTER
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: las vegas
Posts: 1,091
Default

I got the BRS and hooks it up to the sink faucet, it comes with the faucet adapter.
HUNTER is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 07:30 PM   #7
popytoys
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: San Mateo
Posts: 73
Default

Thank you everyone... So the RO system really needs to connect to a "water source" like tap water facet? Can it be just recycling the water in the tank until I do the water change?

Sean, thank you very much for the details. I will check on the link you posted. Again, I am not very handy, and I think my wife will not feel condfient on setting up the RO...

Thank you again to you all!
popytoys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 07:41 PM   #8
saltykisses
Algae Grower
 
saltykisses's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: wolverhampton
Posts: 149
Default

It's quite simple .. Really.. Check out the thread temp rodi on here I post lots of pics of my set up..

I wouldn't recycle the water you'd need a harvester pump and it would be complicated .. Just make 50/50 tap water /purified rodi water... Or rodi water and remineralizer salts for the hardness..


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
saltykisses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 08:07 PM   #9
Jack Gilvey
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Jack Gilvey's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Jersey, USA
Posts: 432
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by popytoys View Post
So the RO system really needs to connect to a "water source" like tap water facet?
Of course, that's what they're for.

Quote:
Can it be just recycling the water in the tank until I do the water change?
No.
__________________
For me, it is far better to grasp the Universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring.
-Carl Sagan
Jack Gilvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 05:56 PM   #10
popytoys
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: San Mateo
Posts: 73
Default

Thanks a lot! I am going to get one from craigslist now...it has 3 tubes and used...only ask for $68 so I will go for it... I will try to get the facet adapter from Amazon too.
popytoys is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012