Be careful with DIY Osmocote Root tabs!
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-27-2013, 11:14 PM   #1
elfofelm
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 32
Default

Be careful with DIY Osmocote Root tabs!


I made bunch of root tabs with Osmocote the other day following instructions from the forum.

The first time, I placed about 10 capsules on my 46 gallon and water parameters stayed fine. So, I thought it has no impact on water.
Yesterday, I placed about 25 capsules on the same tank; thinking that it would be okay to have higher density.

24 hours later, my ammonia and nitrite both skyrocketed!!! (both over 5 ppm)
Fortunately, no fish or shrimp died. Hope it did not cause any permanent damage to my tetras, guppies, and corydoras.

I performed immediate 50% water change and added Seachem safe to detox the ammonia and nitrite for the time being. I guess I will need to perform daily water change until it stabilize again. sigh...


Lessons learned. Be careful with DIY Root tabs!!! Your filter maybe able to handle some ammonia released from the Osmocote, but its capacity will vary!!!

Last edited by elfofelm; 12-27-2013 at 11:19 PM.. Reason: Typo fix
elfofelm is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-27-2013, 11:26 PM   #2
thelub
Newbie
 
thelub's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SE Washington
Posts: 1,780
Default

Sound advice. I would think 10 in a 46 would be a bit much. I only put like 3-4 in at a time and every 3-4 months. Always placing in diff spots too. Are you heavily planted?
thelub is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-27-2013, 11:39 PM   #3
drhemlock2
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: rushville, indiana
Posts: 85
Default way too much

since I have started growing plants I have found the ferts like you mention are at best given every three months. depending on how the plants are growing and looking. and usually at most I put 10 in 35 gallon and 5 in the ten gallon I am using for growing my plants I got off here. I have to cut mine back at least once a week else they cover the whole top.
now plants are in Tupperware so I can move them around and I am using oilsorb as a cap and MG at its base about 1/1/2 inch of each. it takes a little while for the tabs themselves to disintegrate enough to explose the ferts I can usually tell when they start working as my substrate bubbles at times.

doc
drhemlock2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-27-2013, 11:41 PM   #4
acitydweller
ओं मणिपद्मे हूं
 
acitydweller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (171/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 7,573
Default

instead of 10 would i would have used 3-4 for the entire tank. definitely too potent.... glad to see nothing was harmed.
__________________
The Aquatic Plant Society Curator of the NY/NJ/CT LFS & CO2 Directory
Namaste ओं मणिपद्मे हूं
acitydweller is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2013, 01:54 AM   #5
elfofelm
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 32
Default

I have Hemianthus Micranthemoides (Pearl Weed) carpet. It was doing fine for couple months, then not doing so well recently. I figured that it was not enough nutrients since I had 0 Nitrate and 0 phosphate. So, I started PPS-Pro this week, which should have fixed the problem if I gave some time. BUT... I got impatient and wanted to provide maximum fertilizer for the carpet; thus plugged root tabs in much higher density than last time... sigh...
elfofelm is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2013, 11:03 AM   #6
Melted
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 129
Default

Ohh, thats like when i first learned how to not over feed my fish! lol.
__________________
Melted is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2013, 11:26 AM   #7
elfofelm
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 32
Default

Yup... same kind of problem! =)

Now, I do noticed that the gills my guppies are red. Does it mean permanent damage to the gills from the high ammonia?
elfofelm is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2013, 04:54 PM   #8
seandelevan
Planted Member
 
seandelevan's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 241
Default

Yeah you went a tad overboard there. I put maybe 10 in my 125.
seandelevan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2013, 09:16 PM   #9
elfofelm
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 32
Default

Day 2 - Another 50% water change, but the ammonia and nitrite levels are still high (over 5 ppm)... Only think I can rely on is Seachem Safe... Since it detox the ammonia and nitrite to a form that is not harmful to fish, I am hoping that it will prevent any further damage to my fish. I am adding 1/2 tsp of Safe for my 46 gallon every 12 hours. In order to prevent any overdose issue, I added airstone to infuse additional oxygen. sigh...
elfofelm is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2013, 09:33 PM   #10
jrh
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 586
Default

I added too much the first time I bought any as well. It's not like they come with instructions to use only 1-2 per 10gal or anything. More often in the forums, people say something like "swords are heavy root feeders, put some roottabs around it".

I didn't end up with any deaths, just an algae outbreak, the only remnants are on my Anubias barteri because I don't want to cut any leaves off of it.
jrh is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2013, 11:41 PM   #11
Higher Thinking
So good my algae pearls!
 
Higher Thinking's Avatar
 
PTrader: (23/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Oregon State Beavers!
Posts: 1,436
Default

You could have also caused a problem but stirring up so much substrate.
__________________
Higher Thinking is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2013, 12:18 AM   #12
adavisus
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: nc
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to adavisus
Default

Ammonium nitrate is very harsh, it dissolves readily in water. They are designed to dissolve slowly in dirt where the release rate is slower
adavisus is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2013, 01:54 AM   #13
elfofelm
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 32
Default

I tested water again and the Nitrite level is now at 1.25 ppm (knowing that safe will throw off test results to some degree.) So, at least it is getting better and moving into the right direction!

"I didn't end up with any deaths, just an algae outbreak,"
=> I have inline UV, so I am not experiencing bacterial bloom or algae bloom!

"Ammonium nitrate is very harsh, it dissolves readily in water."
=> Yup. Learning the hard way...
elfofelm is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2014, 09:26 AM   #14
ctaylor3737
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
ctaylor3737's Avatar
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 667
Default

Yea I wouldn't put that many in that is way too much. They are good as they said for a few months. I almost did the same thing once and found a thread like this!
ctaylor3737 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2014, 01:56 AM   #15
elfofelm
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 32
Default

Fortunately, water came good after 3 days of 50% water change and no fish died thanks to Safe!
elfofelm is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012