gravel size
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2004, 10:54 AM   #1
chinomano147
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23
Default

I already have gravel from my past tanks but there like 5-6mm in size. Will this work for planted tanks?
chinomano147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-01-2004, 02:15 PM   #2
GulfCoastAquarian
Planted Tank VIP
 
GulfCoastAquarian's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via ICQ to GulfCoastAquarian Send a message via Yahoo to GulfCoastAquarian
Default

5-6mm isn't too bad. Just a hair on the coarse side, but you could do a layer of laterite, profile or kitty litter on the bottom to fill it in a bit.
__________________
- Sam P -
plantedtanker in limbo - all tanks currently in storage
GulfCoastAquarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 08:38 PM   #3
trenac
Wannabe Guru
 
trenac's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina, Traid area
Posts: 1,044
Default

Ditch the 5-6mm gravel and go with a smaller gravel 2-3mm. If the gravel is to big it allows to much debris to fall through, if to small it will be to compact for the roots to grow properly and will not let the water circulate.
__________________
He who angers you, controls you!
trenac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2004, 03:17 PM   #4
malkore
Planted Tank Guru
 
malkore's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 2,165
Default

or fill with some smaller gravel,a nd just have a light layer of the big stuff on top.
i'd say 6mm gravel on it's own it too coarse.
__________________
Malkore
Filstar XP2 PIMP #3
Visit my aquarium pages - see specs on my tanks, and photos of how they've evolved
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2004, 04:42 PM   #5
Wasserpest
Are these real?
 
Wasserpest's Avatar
 
PTrader: (175/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 15,092
Default

I'd say if it is fairly round gravel, it is too coarse. If it is flat, oval, whatnot gravel in different sizes and shapes, it wouldn't be to bad, and adding some nutrituous layer underneath as Sam suggested would make it quite suitable for planting. Glosso wouldn't work though.
Wasserpest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing Gravel With Sand randomrambler Substrate 7 08-18-2004 08:59 PM
Mixing eco-complete and old gravel and mulm Fat Guy Substrate 6 06-29-2004 12:51 AM
Does size matter ? AussieTanker Substrate 7 05-13-2004 02:55 PM
flourite and gravel, layered? Anonymous Substrate 5 02-10-2004 08:10 PM
CO2 Reactor Size... mattrmiller Equipment 1 09-12-2003 04:45 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012