coralife for 20gal Long
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Low Tech Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2007, 04:50 AM   #1
phanizzle
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Jersey City,NJ
Posts: 680
Default

coralife for 20gal Long


so im thinking of buying the coralife 30' 2x18 t-5. i might get like 38-40 watts off the lighting for my 20 gal long. will that be to strong without running co2? if i dont run co2 what would i need to keep up healthy plants and growth? so far in my tank i have rummynose tetras, neon tetras, otos, corys, red cherry shrimps, anarchis, java moss, and anubia nana. please help me out. if i dont run a co2 do i need to buy any liquids for the plants? will it harm any of my fishes? and do i just add the liquids in when i do a water change? thanks in advanced! have a nice day!
phanizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-02-2007, 05:42 AM   #2
crazie.eddie
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,681
Send a message via ICQ to crazie.eddie Send a message via AIM to crazie.eddie Send a message via MSN to crazie.eddie Send a message via Yahoo to crazie.eddie
Default

I recently purchased the Coralife 30" T5 for my 20 gal long low tech planted tank. I keep RCS, amanos, L-046 zebra plecos, L-183 Starlight brisstlenose pleco, and some otos. The plants are doing well and all I do is just feed the fish and perform WC, with no gravel vac.
__________________
125 gal (473 liter): Low Tech (1.5wpg PC for 10 hours, no CO2/ferts, gravel substrate), Equipment (72" Coralife PC, Eheim Pro II 2128 w/built in heater, FilStar XP3 w/Hydor ETH201 inline heater), Fish (6*Discus, 2*Angel, 5*Clown loaches, 4*L-018 Gold Nugget pleco, 1*L-260 Queen Arabesque pleco, 7*Cories, Farlowella cat)
crazie.eddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 12:41 AM   #3
phanizzle
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Jersey City,NJ
Posts: 680
Default

thanks crazie.eddie. can anyone else help me out?
phanizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 01:32 AM   #4
Gundy
Algae Grower
 
Gundy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 113
Default

I've got a 20L with a coralife 30' 2x18 T-5 fixture with dual 6700K bulbs.

I also put a couple of other 20L light hoods over it and to be honest, running just the coralife would probably keep my algae growth down.

Why can't you just do the DIY CO2 in 2 liter bottle?
Gundy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 03:06 AM   #5
phanizzle
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Jersey City,NJ
Posts: 680
Default

can you send me the recipe and tutorial on how to do it, gundy
phanizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 03:12 AM   #6
Gundy
Algae Grower
 
Gundy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 113
Default

I tried numerous recipes but basically I just used 2 cups of sugar, 1/2 tsp of yeast, 1/4 tsp of baking soda.

This website shows how to build the bottle. I just used airline tubing and then drilled a hole in the cap of the bottle and inserted the tubing as tightly as possible. I then silconed around the tubing on the cap - let it set for a day then made the recipe.

http://www.qsl.net/w2wdx/aquaria/diyco2.html
Gundy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 03:19 AM   #7
phanizzle
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Jersey City,NJ
Posts: 680
Default

would i need to dose something ? excel? anything? if so would i dose when i do water changes which is like once or twice a week? if so would it harm any of my shrimps? fishes? plants? help please.
phanizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 03:32 AM   #8
Gundy
Algae Grower
 
Gundy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 113
Default

I have 5 liquid fertilizers from seachem ( IE. Flourish/Excel/Iron/Potassium/Phosphate) - I just follow the seachem chart on their website for dosing.

You don't necessarily need excel if you have CO2 running from my understanding. I am just trying to conquer some hair algae that has sparked up. Depending on your plants you may or may not need fertilizers, although it usually doesn't hurt anything.

Water changes once a week is fine. Nothing will harm the fish/shrimp/plants as long as you dechlor etc..
Gundy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 04:13 AM   #9
phanizzle
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Jersey City,NJ
Posts: 680
Default

for the diy co2 can i use crazy glue or something to seal the tube to the 2liter cap? or do i need to use something else? btw thanks for answering gundy
phanizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 05:04 AM   #10
Gundy
Algae Grower
 
Gundy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 113
Default

I just used silicone around the tubing. No clue if crazy glue would create an air tight seal.
Gundy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 07:43 AM   #11
crazie.eddie
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,681
Send a message via ICQ to crazie.eddie Send a message via AIM to crazie.eddie Send a message via MSN to crazie.eddie Send a message via Yahoo to crazie.eddie
Default

You probably won't need to use ferts. Since you will be keeping some fish and shrimp, their waste and the breaking down of the food will help nutrients for the plants. As I mentioned, I have a 20 gallon long with the Coralife 30" T5 light and use no ferts. Just feeding the fish and WC, with no gravel vacs.
__________________
125 gal (473 liter): Low Tech (1.5wpg PC for 10 hours, no CO2/ferts, gravel substrate), Equipment (72" Coralife PC, Eheim Pro II 2128 w/built in heater, FilStar XP3 w/Hydor ETH201 inline heater), Fish (6*Discus, 2*Angel, 5*Clown loaches, 4*L-018 Gold Nugget pleco, 1*L-260 Queen Arabesque pleco, 7*Cories, Farlowella cat)
crazie.eddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 04:56 PM   #12
phanizzle
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Jersey City,NJ
Posts: 680
Default

thank you both!
phanizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 09:14 PM   #13
Riley
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 444
Send a message via AIM to Riley Send a message via Yahoo to Riley
Default

I have used hot glue in the past instead of silicone and it worked fine.
__________________
Riley

Apistos, plecs and plants



MiAPG (Michigan Aquatic Plant Group) - Join today!
Riley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2007, 03:04 AM   #14
narhay
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 308
Default

Drill a hole in the 2L bottle cap, smaller than the hose.

Cut the hose at a relatively steep angle (60 degrees).

Push the angled hose into the hole.

Grab it from the other side with pliers.

Pull through.

Airtight.
narhay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012