co2 venturi or water intake
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Low Tech Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2007, 12:55 AM   #1
jesso
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 54
Default

co2 venturi or water intake


I have two Red Sea CO2 Bio's hooked up to my 20 G tank.

Each setup comes with a diffuser pump (venturi).

My question is would it be better to direct the CO2 hose from the reactor directly into the water intake? Rather then to the pump?

It seems to me that the CO2 would be more dissolved in the water that way.
jesso is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-12-2007, 01:06 AM   #2
epicfish
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (266/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 9,417
Default

Into the intake.
epicfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 01:08 AM   #3
jesso
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 54
Default

what does this do to my biological media? anything?
jesso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 01:14 AM   #4
epicfish
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (266/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 9,417
Default

Don't over-inject the CO2 and you're good.
epicfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 01:21 AM   #5
jesso
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 54
Default

hmmmmmm

not sure what you mean.

How can I can control the the CO2 if I do not use the venturi pump? Thats the problem I see.
jesso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 01:24 AM   #6
epicfish
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (266/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 9,417
Default

Oh, it's the tablets you drop in? A DIY type thing? You probably won't over inject then. How big is your tank?
epicfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 12:07 AM   #7
limnidi
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (22/100%)
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 104
Default

If your canister filter does not trap gas after a while, i would use the intake to disolve co2. It works pretty well for me.
limnidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 08:47 PM   #8
lester
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: tx
Posts: 53
Default

If you pump it into the intake doesnt the carbonic acid will eat away at your impeller over time?
lester is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012