13G (tall) Shrimp Breeding Tank - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Tank Journals


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-15-2013, 07:53 PM   #16
Pakman
Algae Grower
 
Pakman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Bay Area, NorCal
Posts: 122
Default

I keep the house a little cold during the winter, so the heater is needed to keep it around 72-74. Summer should be fine but it's been pretty cold lately.

My other tank didn't have any berries shrimp until I added the heater and raised the temp to 72 then bam... Berries...

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Pakman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-17-2013, 12:56 AM   #17
Pakman
Algae Grower
 
Pakman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Bay Area, NorCal
Posts: 122
Default

Well, did a 90% water change to switch to ro water and got to tds of 220. One day later.. Ammonia is 0.25ppm, nitrite is 0.5ppm and nitrate is about 5ppm. Guess i still have to wait a bit. How often should I be doing water changes now? And how big? 2x week for 20%? Or less often?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Pakman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 04:27 AM   #18
Pakman
Algae Grower
 
Pakman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Bay Area, NorCal
Posts: 122
Default

Thanks to a RAOK, I may have overplanted my tank... what do you guys think?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20131217_211928.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	97.4 KB
ID:	248081  

Pakman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 01:27 AM   #19
Pakman
Algae Grower
 
Pakman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Bay Area, NorCal
Posts: 122
Default

Decided to find some ammonia to add to the tank to see how it reacts. Added about 2ml and now the ammonia reading is about 2-4 ppm. Will check tomorrow to see how the bacteria reacts. Nitrites were low after the water change, so should spike tomorrow, then hopefully go down.
Pakman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 01:40 AM   #20
Aqualady
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Aqualady's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 820
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pakman View Post
Thanks to a RAOK, I may have overplanted my tank... what do you guys think?
Your shrimps will enjoy all the plants...looking good
Aqualady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 06:28 PM   #21
Pakman
Algae Grower
 
Pakman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Bay Area, NorCal
Posts: 122
Default

Thanks Aqualady... I'm looking forward to putting the shrimps in. Did another water test today, 1 day after adding ammonia... now the levels look like:

Ammonia = 0.25ppm
Nitrites = 0.25 ppm
Nitrates somehwere around 10-20ppm.

am I done cycling yet? added another batch of ammonia to check.... here is the test pic.

let me know if you think RCS can be put in yet.. or I should wait...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20131224_104518.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	56.7 KB
ID:	250281  

Pakman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2013, 06:47 PM   #22
Pakman
Algae Grower
 
Pakman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Bay Area, NorCal
Posts: 122
Default

Looks like I'm still cycling.. Nitrites are still 0.5ppm range.. Or does it take longer for the nitrites to be absorbed? Ammonia is down to 0.25ppm. I could add a purigen pouch but not sure that it is a good time yet. Maybe i will feed more ammonia in the afternoon..

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Pakman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2013, 07:27 PM   #23
Soup12
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Soup12's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/99%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: MN
Posts: 845
Default

interesting tank dimensions. It will definately work well for a shrimp tank!
Soup12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2013, 07:28 PM   #24
kcoscia
Wannabe Guru
 
kcoscia's Avatar
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,218
Default

purigen will suck up the ammonia too. I don't think it's a good idea to use while cycling!
__________________
kcoscia is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 12:44 AM   #25
Pakman
Algae Grower
 
Pakman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Bay Area, NorCal
Posts: 122
Default

Thanks for the feedback guys, guess I will still dose ammonia. Another few ml of ammonia just went in, will check again in the am..

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Pakman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 05:26 AM   #26
kwheeler91
Wannabe Guru
 
kwheeler91's Avatar
 
PTrader: (19/100%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Port Clinton, OH
Posts: 1,138
Default

Keep on cycling for another week if I were you want to be on the safe side. Might as well dump it on in while its just plants and bacteria living in there. However, concentrated ammonia isn't really comparable to a gradual production of waste by fish and shrimp. Just make sure you do another water change before you add livestock to knock the nitrates down.
__________________
kwheeler91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 06:17 AM   #27
Pakman
Algae Grower
 
Pakman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Bay Area, NorCal
Posts: 122
Default

definatly will do another water change before introducing shrimp. need to get those nitrates down. hoping to see some significant changes tomorrow though.. Thinking painted fire reds or RCS.
Pakman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 02:17 AM   #28
Pakman
Algae Grower
 
Pakman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Bay Area, NorCal
Posts: 122
Default

OK, ammonia went from 4ppm to 0.25ppm and nitrites went from 0.25ppm to between 2-5ppm. I guess I wait another day to see if nitrites go down...

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Pakman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 07:02 PM   #29
Pakman
Algae Grower
 
Pakman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Bay Area, NorCal
Posts: 122
Default

Woo-hoo... Ammonia and nitrites down to 0 I'm cycled.. Now a water change and time to get some breeding stock. Have a line on some fire reds that I've been looking at, so will go with those. Maybe 10 to start?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Pakman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 07:37 PM   #30
AquaAurora
Planted Tank Guru
 
AquaAurora's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: south eastern PA
Posts: 2,179
Default

I took a while to cycle my newer tanks, found that its not truly cycled until both ammonia and nitrite stay at "0" even after doing a water test (3 hours) after adding ammonia to tank (also had/have indestructible pond snails in there). Took for-ev-er for nitrites to go down to "0" in my larger tank, then I made the mistake of doing too vigorous a cleaning of the canister filter to remove mulm/dead plant matter and bring down nitrates.. went through another mini cycle and had to wait an extra week to put in my fish >.<
__________________
3g bowl, 2g jar, & 0.5g Vase 3g 7g Cube 10g 20g long riparium 55g aquaponics
Coming Soon: 12g long journal (waiting for blyxa to grow back)
M.T.S.? ...Nahh
AquaAurora is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012