The new begining, M@TT's 125g - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Tank Journals


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2013, 03:15 AM   #16
UDGags
aka Nick
 
UDGags's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 891
Send a message via AIM to UDGags Send a message via Yahoo to UDGags
Default

Usually that type of algae is an indication of not enough CO2 or too much light.

What type of light cycle are you running?
__________________
UDGags is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-18-2013, 11:19 AM   #17
M@tt
Algae Grower
 
M@tt's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: BFE
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vepr View Post
Might be a fertilization or light cycle issue possibly?
Quote:
Originally Posted by UDGags View Post
Usually that type of algae is an indication of not enough CO2 or too much light.

What type of light cycle are you running?
Thanks for the help guys
I am currently not fertilizing at all. Any nutrients would be coming from the top soil.
My light cycle is 8 hours of 2x250w 10k Metal halide.

My initial thought was that it was due to a lack of Co2. I am currently running the co2 directly into the mag18 without a reactor. I have not had time to build a reactor, but should next week. There are substantial microbubbles in the display tank from the co2 injection, so I am 100% positive I am losing a majority of it due to inefficency
M@tt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 02:31 PM   #18
Vepr
Planted Member
 
Vepr's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 184
Default

If it is a new tank with soil as the substrate I think there is a period after setup when you get a lot of nutrients leaching into the water. This combined with higher lighting will cause algae blooms. I have never run a soil substrate but I have read about this happening and it is supposedly normal. Maybe a reduced lighting period along with the water changes and maybe some frogbit or some other fast growing surface plant could help deal with the initial nutrient flood.

Maybe you could buy an in-tank CO2 atomizer for the short term until you get what you want set up in terms of an inline reactor.
__________________
Vepr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 11:42 PM   #19
M@tt
Algae Grower
 
M@tt's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: BFE
Posts: 71
Default

. Built this reactor tuesday
Ran this type of setup on the past 4 setups I have had.
M@tt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 11:29 AM   #20
M@tt
Algae Grower
 
M@tt's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: BFE
Posts: 71
Default

Quick update.
Since I put the new co2 reactor online, algae has decreased and growth of plants have exploded.
Got in a new shipment of plants from H4N from PlantedTank
Took out some of the algae infested plants and added a few powerheads for flow, thanks to JackD for loaning them out.
I planted approximately 100 nodes of a foreground plant (Marsilea Minuta) and 20-30 Bacopa sp. 'Japan'. Also planted Hygrophila sp. 'Araguaia' ,
Hygrophila Pinnatifida, Rotala Wallichii and a couple c. Balansea

Here is another low quality cell phone picture.

M@tt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 11:36 AM   #21
h4n
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (713/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Charlton, Mass
Posts: 4,910
Default

Cant wait to see it fill in man!!!

100 nodes? man I suck at counting! LOL
h4n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 11:39 AM   #22
M@tt
Algae Grower
 
M@tt's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: BFE
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by h4n View Post
Cant wait to see it fill in man!!!

100 nodes? man I suck at counting! LOL
I think 100 is a understatement!
Your counting skills did me good
M@tt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 11:47 AM   #23
h4n
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (713/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Charlton, Mass
Posts: 4,910
Default

Lol!!

What you got is about 1/32 of what I have left lol

Half a 40b foreground and about 3" thick.
h4n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 11:51 AM   #24
M@tt
Algae Grower
 
M@tt's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: BFE
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by h4n View Post
Lol!!

What you got is about 1/32 of what I have left lol

Half a 40b foreground and about 3" thick.
Thats crazy!
I am hoping this stuff grows in pretty quickly. I really like the texture and color this plant offers
M@tt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 11:53 AM   #25
h4n
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (713/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Charlton, Mass
Posts: 4,910
Default

It grows a decent rate.
I planted it in my 40b on Oct. Right before my wedding day like 2am lmao!

So all that in about 3 months.
h4n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 03:15 AM   #26
M@tt
Algae Grower
 
M@tt's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: BFE
Posts: 71
Default

Did a quick water change tonight. Water is still a tad hazy and ignore the algae on the glass.





Also started working on a couple small led arrays for a sunrise-sunset feature.



M@tt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 01:39 PM   #27
M@tt
Algae Grower
 
M@tt's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: BFE
Posts: 71
Default

I had a few buddies ask about my nozzle's I use on my return lines.....
Here is the way I have found to be able to adjust the flow and make more of a linear output.

I use this.......


To make this.....



I can mill different width cuts to allow more or less flow through the nozzle
M@tt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2014, 01:54 PM   #28
M@tt
Algae Grower
 
M@tt's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: BFE
Posts: 71
Default

Quick update.....no pictures of the actual tank

I was getting tired with the old overflow box without teeth. Fish would go over the overflow box right into the sump which resulted in dead fish.
I purchased a few pre-cut pieces of new black acrylic from a local guy on salt-city. I fired up the old mill and cut teeth into the the acrylic. This took forever, but turned out real nice. It is accurate to 4 thousandths of a inch! Next chore is to drain half of the water out of the 125 and tear out the old box and install the new box.





M@tt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2014, 02:49 PM   #29
Phil Edwards
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Phil Edwards's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Elysburg, PA
Posts: 838
Default

Looking good! I envy your access to tools. It must make building things so much easier.
Phil Edwards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2014, 02:52 PM   #30
hobo717
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 28
Default

can't wait to see the overflow in the tank.
hobo717 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012