6dKH 6dGH but pH 8.4.. Any idea how? Also water change question.
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2013, 04:23 PM   #1
zodduska
Planted Member
 
zodduska's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Oswego, IL
Posts: 275
Default

6dKH 6dGH but pH 8.4.. Any idea how? Also water change question.


So my tap water is hard:

KH 16
GH 17
TDS 280

I would expect the pH to be pretty high but I've been mixing it 50/50 with RO water and adding it to my tank with new Aquasoil which buffers it down to KH 5-6 and GH 6-7, if I let the tank water sit in a dish for 24 hours the pH measures 8.4 which seems unusually high to me. I tried calling the local water company to ask what they're doing to it but they never got back to me.

Does this seem normal? I thought it would be pretty easy to get the pH down some mixing RO and the aquasoil buffer..

The second part of my question is water changes: Does the result of the aquasoil buffered water's lower GH/KH pose a stress issue for fish and shrimp when replacing with un-buffered water? It's about KH/GH 8-10, TDS 190
__________________
zodduska is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-17-2013, 06:25 PM   #2
Guyver
Algae Grower
 
Guyver's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Silverdale, WA
Posts: 109
Default

Phosphates can screw with your pH as well, I know when I lived in Utah my phosphates ran 2-4 ppm out of the tap and I had pH that high without CO2 supplementation.

Not sure about the 2nd question, sorry.
__________________
10 gallon acrylic fw planted. 6 neons, 1 fancy male guppy, RCS, pond snails & MTS, AC50, Current USA Nova Extreme 2x18W T5HO, pressurized CO2.
Guyver is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-17-2013, 07:54 PM   #3
happi
Planted Tank Guru
 
happi's Avatar
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 2,748
Send a message via Yahoo to happi
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guyver View Post
Phosphates can screw with your pH as well, I know when I lived in Utah my phosphates ran 2-4 ppm out of the tap and I had pH that high without CO2 supplementation.

Not sure about the 2nd question, sorry.
can you explain how po4 could raise the ph? because i couldnt think of any.
__________________
happi is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-17-2013, 11:20 PM   #4
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 8,726
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by happi View Post
can you explain how po4 could raise the ph? because i couldnt think of any.
I don't think phosphates will raise pH, but they will definitely buffer it to some degree.
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-17-2013, 11:55 PM   #5
mistergreen
No more Bow ties
 
mistergreen's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 13,593
Default

Your waterworks add various chemicals in the water to raise the pH so to protect the pipes.
Go on your local waterworks' website. Everything should be listed.
mistergreen is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-18-2013, 01:19 AM   #6
happi
Planted Tank Guru
 
happi's Avatar
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 2,748
Send a message via Yahoo to happi
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkblade48 View Post
I don't think phosphates will raise pH, but they will definitely buffer it to some degree.
ok that make more sense
happi is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-18-2013, 04:41 PM   #7
zodduska
Planted Member
 
zodduska's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Oswego, IL
Posts: 275
Default

Here's the water quality report, I didn't find it very helpful other than they add polyphosphates to suspend particles in the water.

http://www.oswegoil.org/pdf/2012%20W...y%20Report.pdf
__________________
zodduska is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2013, 04:43 PM   #8
mistergreen
No more Bow ties
 
mistergreen's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 13,593
Default

polyphosphates are weak bases according to wiki. That could be the source of high pH.
mistergreen is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012