PAR for 36" & 48" RAY II DS - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Sponsors > Finnex / Schuber Wright


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2013, 10:00 PM   #16
Xirxes
Algae Grower
 
Xirxes's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: san diego
Posts: 101
Default

Can anyone post up a link to, or perform PAR metering on the 48" unit at 24" depth through water with Hoppy's meter or similar?

I'd really like to see the difference to know where i set PAR wise.
Xirxes is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-15-2013, 04:41 AM   #17
solchitlins
Planted Member
 
solchitlins's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: detroit area
Posts: 175
Default

I have a 110 gal.
48"x24"x22" that I would like to take a stab at making a low tech planted aquarium. I plan on using soil capped with sand and I don't want to have to run co2. I'm thinking low or low to medium light for this to work best.

What would you suggest for my first and possibly only light for this tank? Maybe someday I might wish to switch to high light and add another 48" LED unit but I was hoping to start with one.

I have been looking at the fugeray and the ray2 (ds?) what does the ds mean anyways, do I have to order it ds or is the ray2 the same?

I'm thinking if the light cant cover the whole width I will just plant along the back and have some shadow areas in the front for the fish to school in.

thanks
solchitlins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 02:12 PM   #18
Aquaticz
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Aquaticz's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 665
Default

I have 2 Ray 2 DS. I am going to try and put two on a tank 24 " tall because I want to try
48" fugue ray planted + on a standard 55 gallon.


DS= 7 k dual
__________________
Regards,
Aquaticz


Last edited by Aquaticz; 11-09-2013 at 02:13 PM.. Reason: typo
Aquaticz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 03:42 AM   #19
spidernids
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Addis, Louisiana
Posts: 43
Default

Would this require CO2 on a 75 gallon tank?
spidernids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 12:39 PM   #20
Aquaticz
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Aquaticz's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 665
Default

Funny you say that = the tank has CO2 but I hardly use it the last few months
__________________
Regards,
Aquaticz

Aquaticz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 02:01 PM   #21
spidernids
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Addis, Louisiana
Posts: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aquaticz View Post
Funny you say that = the tank has CO2 but I hardly use it the last few months
Do you run 1 or 2 on your tank? No algae issues? No liquid CO2 added?
spidernids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 04:29 PM   #22
Aquaticz
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Aquaticz's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 665
Default

Have to receive the planted + before I try two Ray 2 on a non co2 75 gal tank. I do have the C02 if needed. The new fixture is supposed to come in Wednesday of this week.
__________________
Regards,
Aquaticz

Aquaticz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2013, 01:15 PM   #23
Aquaticz
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Aquaticz's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 665
Default

so many questions and so few answers....does not seem to matter what post you look at. Some one at Finnex might consider posting accurate charts that can be easily read and downloaded. The charts might include - 55 gal - high light= two Ray II DS;. med light = 2 planted plus; Low light - 1 planted +
Yes Iknow there are variables- like floating plants. Just do it in a tank with water!

I just do not understand the lack of info...finnex is making a heap of dough, I think the customer should be given more info - even if it costs finnex to do so. Whats with par values in air? Not growing air plants in my aquaria are you? They all faery depending on length, so why not match them up with standard tank sizes, after all - why does Finnex think there are so many questions about which fixture to use. Boost sales Finnex and provide accurate useful information & while you are at it what does another 3" of wire cost? Buying extension cords for a tank is more than silly. People have complained about the issue since you first came out with them
__________________
Regards,
Aquaticz

Aquaticz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2013, 06:08 PM   #24
Saltydog33
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: South Florida
Posts: 77
Default

I have to say i am pretty disappointed with no accurate par readings on the planted + im not going to be a happy camper if the par is lower then what i initially seen posted. I mean how hard is it to get par readings on a light when thats what you build and sell?
Saltydog33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012