Diatom Algae?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2004, 08:00 PM   #1
mm12463
Algae Grower
 
mm12463's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN USA
Posts: 111
Default

Is this diatom algae? Just want to make sure I am indentifing it correctly.


Thanks.

__________________
mm12463 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-20-2004, 02:09 AM   #2
LiquidEric
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 123
Default

Looks like it could be. If you tank is less than a month old, then it is very likely to be diatoms(which aren't actually algae).
__________________
New(10/10/2008) 50 gallon! (36x18x18in)
4x39 watts 6700k t5 lights
fluourite gravel mixed substrate
Still figuring out ferts in this tank
pressurized CO2 after a long time of DIY CO2
My last tank http://www.plantedtank.net/tankgallery/Liquid-Eric/31/
LiquidEric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 02:17 AM   #3
mm12463
Algae Grower
 
mm12463's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN USA
Posts: 111
Default

I don't think it is now. Here is my issue in more detail.
__________________
mm12463 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2004, 04:23 AM   #4
mm12463
Algae Grower
 
mm12463's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN USA
Posts: 111
Default

Check this out -

Sorry the pictures are crappy. I had to get to work but wanted to take a photo and I was in a hurry to get to the bar when I got home.

This was taken at 8 am as of lights on.



And at 6 pm - 10 hours later.



I've been doing water changes every day to get the NO3 and PO4 since I had bad test kits and get things in order. Just amazing how fast it grows in 10 hours.
__________________
mm12463 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2004, 07:44 PM   #5
wellbiz
Wannabe Guru
 
wellbiz's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,270
Default

That sure does look like a form of thread or brush algae... Something in your tank is out of spec. If i remember from the chat your co2 levels arent optimial.... concentrate on getting your dosing worked out and try to up the co2 level to @20ppm if not a little higher. I would probably also do a few big water changes on top of that...

Jason
__________________
120g, Flourite & Sand. DIY Stand and Canopy. CF lighting 3wpg, Pressurized C02, DIY reactor. 2-XP3's, 500watt heater.
Heavily planted
wellbiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's a good cheap Diatom filter and Is this an algae bloom? (pics) Poohbee Equipment 13 07-28-2004 10:30 AM
My algae problems depthC Algae 1 03-07-2004 07:07 PM
Hi from new member with algae question! diddle Algae 7 12-01-2003 09:49 PM
Algae Battle - I'm winning! GDominy Algae 2 05-23-2003 08:23 PM
Hair Algae - Nitrates & Phosphates lanstar Algae 17 12-18-2002 01:47 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012