Windows 7 -- How to disable that auto restart thing - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Forums > The Lounge & Introductions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2013, 04:27 AM   #16
DarkCobra
Planted Tank Guru
 
DarkCobra's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 3,349
Default

I hope the OP doesn't mind a friendly side debate.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mistergreen View Post
Corporations don't like to update their systems is another reason.
I can certainly appreciate that. But I don't think that's as big a reason. If it were, then for those corporations that support mixed OS versions, I'd expect that many machines purchased at the time when Vista was pre-installed would still be using Vista. For those that prefer to be homogenous, many that rolled out Vista would also still be using it. That should result in a smoother distribution, rather than the shrinkingly small Vista usage compared to versions on either side of it. Vista machines, in particular, were upgraded as soon as possible - even preferentially over XP. Which suggests that quality of an OS is more important.

Also, I have an application used by a few dozen corporations. That may be a relatively small sample set, but as far as I know they dropped XP years ago. They're all running Win7 now. Working in corporate IT, you get flak if you upgrade too often, but you get more if you upgrade too infrequently. At this point I just can't imagine so many XP holdouts existing in the corporate world.

But I could be wrong.
DarkCobra is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-21-2013, 05:28 AM   #17
GraphicGr8s
Pixel Prestidigitator
 
GraphicGr8s's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: West coast of the east coast of the USA.
Posts: 2,736
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkCobra View Post
I hope the OP doesn't mind a friendly side debate.



I can certainly appreciate that. But I don't think that's as big a reason. If it were, then for those corporations that support mixed OS versions, I'd expect that many machines purchased at the time when Vista was pre-installed would still be using Vista. For those that prefer to be homogenous, many that rolled out Vista would also still be using it. That should result in a smoother distribution, rather than the shrinkingly small Vista usage compared to versions on either side of it. Vista machines, in particular, were upgraded as soon as possible - even preferentially over XP. Which suggests that quality of an OS is more important.

Also, I have an application used by a few dozen corporations. That may be a relatively small sample set, but as far as I know they dropped XP years ago. They're all running Win7 now. Working in corporate IT, you get flak if you upgrade too often, but you get more if you upgrade too infrequently. At this point I just can't imagine so many XP holdouts existing in the corporate world.

But I could be wrong.
I think you'll find it's the small to mid sized companies that just can't afford to upgrade right now. Other companies I talk to are still running XP for that reason. M-O-N-E-Y.
__________________
Recedite, plebes! Gero rem imperialem.
Quote me as saying I was misquoted.
Once you get rid of integrity the rest is a piece of cake.
Here's to our wives and sweethearts - may they never meet.
If you agreed with me we'd both be right.
GraphicGr8s is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-21-2013, 03:03 PM   #18
mistergreen
No more Bow ties
 
mistergreen's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 14,258
Default

Upgrading would also wreck apps that they built too or wreck their whole network built with yarn and duct-tape.
Laziness could be a reason too

Oh, IE8 come installed with windows 7 btw. If you deinstall IE9+ on windows 7, the default browser is IE8.

Last edited by mistergreen; 11-21-2013 at 03:14 PM.. Reason: ++
mistergreen is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-21-2013, 06:47 PM   #19
gSTiTcH
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
gSTiTcH's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 838
Default

Is there a chance, since you said Auto Update was disabled, that you're experiencing a stop error (Blue Screen of Death) during the night? You can check your system event log to see if there are any "error" entries. Drivers and hardware faults can cause all sorts of funky things.
__________________
RAOK Club #105

Pay It Forward, Further the Community!

It's CO2. See-Oh-Two. Not C02 (see-zero-two).
gSTiTcH is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012