Does Flourite increase tank GH?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2013, 01:09 AM   #1
JohnLW
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 22
Default

Does Flourite increase tank GH?


I have been measuring water parameters as my new fresh water aquarium (20 gal.) has gone through cycling and population with plants and fish. I wanted good plant growth and invested in a bag of Flourite which I topped with previously used aquarium gravel. I washed both well before putting them in the new tank. The intial readings were GH - 9 and KH - 4. In two weeks the GH was up to 13 and dropped to 12 after I replace 10% of the tank's water. KH, pH, NH3, NO2 and NO3 are all stable and at reasonable values. The fish and plants are happy but I worry about the increasing general hardness. What is a reasonable GH range for tetras and corys? I suppose I could change out water more than once per week or even mix in some softer water, although I am about to try DIY CO2 and don't want the KH level to decrease much. Any thoughts?
JohnLW is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-21-2013, 04:21 AM   #2
Texan78
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Texan78's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North Texas
Posts: 836
Default

I am currently using Flourite in my 50G which has been running for a week and I haven't seen an increase in GH but, I am also running CO2. I am due for a 10% WC Friday and will check it again then when I do the change verus what it is at before it and 24 hrs later and see what I is running.
Texan78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 05:16 AM   #3
Wannaberooted
Green is good
 
Wannaberooted's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Eau Claire WI
Posts: 273
Default

No, I believe it is inert. It has high cationic exchange capacity, that's it.
__________________
Wouldn't you like to beside the seaside?
Wannaberooted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 05:53 AM   #4
Subtletanks91
Moss'n shrimp pimp
 
Subtletanks91's Avatar
 
PTrader: (38/100%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Redwood city, ca
Posts: 2,475
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wannaberooted View Post
No, I believe it is inert. It has high cationic exchange capacity, that's it.
What does this mean haha. Every time I come on this website after work an in the morning when I am feeding my daughter I feel like I'm in college going to biology, marine courses, and studying aquatic Eco system behavior and bacteria/algae course 101.

Always something new.
__________________
must....have.....more....moss n shrimp!!!!!!!!!!

Subtletanks91 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 06:46 AM   #5
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 9,184
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wannaberooted View Post
No, I believe it is inert. It has high cationic exchange capacity, that's it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Subtletanks91 View Post
What does this mean haha.
Cation Exchange Capacity (CEC) is essentially the ability for a soil to hold onto cations (positively charged molecules). A higher CEC generally means that the the soil is more fertile, as it has cations that can be used by plants.
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 06:50 AM   #6
Wannaberooted
Green is good
 
Wannaberooted's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Eau Claire WI
Posts: 273
Default

Well it does take a lot of reading. It means that it absorbs nutrients easily and releases them when needed if available, but releases no nutrients of it's own despite all the stuff on the label.
__________________
Wouldn't you like to beside the seaside?
Wannaberooted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 01:03 PM   #7
acitydweller
ओं मणिपद्मे हूं
 
acitydweller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (174/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 7,667
Default

i've witnessed gh and kh drops with Safe-t-sorb substrate.
__________________
"I am Groot", the faithful protector
acitydweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 01:45 PM   #8
Seattle_Aquarist
Planted Tank Guru
 
Seattle_Aquarist's Avatar
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,515
Default

Quote:
No, I believe it is inert. It has high cationic exchange capacity, that's it.
Hi All,

Just a quick clarification; Flourite (#19) (CEC = 1.7) does not have a high CEC like the Montmorillonite clay materials such as Turface (#16) (CEC = 29.8-41.1) or Safe-T-Sorb #7941. Although Flourite has a relatively low CEC it does contain a lot of mineral nutrients essential for healthy plant growth; although the low CEC would bring into question the ability of Flourite to release those minerals to plant roots.

CEC Values of Various Substrates and Additives (per Planted Aquaria Magazine issue #2)
__________________
Roy
45 Gallon Tall; 96 Watt AH Supply CF; 6700K; & 30 Gallon Long; 2X36 Watt AH Supply CF; Press. CO2; UGF; Heat Treated Montmorillonite Clay
Greater Seattle Aquarium Society (GSAS)


Last edited by Seattle_Aquarist; 11-21-2013 at 01:59 PM.. Reason: ..
Seattle_Aquarist is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 04:37 PM   #9
micheljq
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
micheljq's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Quebec
Posts: 506
Default

Flourite is not inert, sand is.
__________________
Newbie with plants, Quebec.
micheljq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 06:39 PM   #10
JohnLW
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 22
Default

The table that Roy kindly provided shows that Flourite does contain some Ca and Mg which contribute to GH, but not in high amounts compared with many other substrates. I guess I will just increase water change frequency and hope that my run-away GH tops out and eventually declines.
JohnLW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 08:55 PM   #11
DarkCobra
Planted Tank Guru
 
DarkCobra's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 3,349
Default

New Flourite is pretty dusty, and you can never fully wash it all out. The fine dust may be leaching some minerals out. I've not checked GH specifically, but have seen some evidence that new Flourite Black can initially leach out a good bit of manganese.

If this is the case, it should resolve within a week or two.
DarkCobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 02:58 AM   #12
Wannaberooted
Green is good
 
Wannaberooted's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Eau Claire WI
Posts: 273
Default

I certainly not going to argue with people that have so much more experience than I.

My experience with Flourite has shown me however, that it has not changed my water parameters in any way from my tap water. When I first started with plants, I expected the Flourite to supply the nutrients in a low light tank. All my plants were dying until I started dosing iron and potassium. They didn't start thriving until I put in root tabs.

That was my reasoning to state it is inert, basically.
__________________
Wouldn't you like to beside the seaside?
Wannaberooted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2013, 05:32 PM   #13
JohnLW
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 22
Default

You were right DarkCobra. My tank's GH stopped going up and is now headed back down toward my tap water's GH with water changes. I'm not sure if this was due to the Flourite or something in the old aquarium gravel that sat in a paper bag for 15 years. I had washed the gravel well and it had been previously used in a tank with just plants and fish (no driftwood, etc.). If I ever buy another bag of Flourite, I will hold some out for a test.
JohnLW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012