fugeray and hairgrass
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2013, 05:56 PM   #1
Kal18seven
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: pa
Posts: 34
Default

fugeray and hairgrass


Would a finnex fugeray on a 20 long tank, be enough to grow dwarf hairgrass?
Kal18seven is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-15-2013, 02:41 PM   #2
Kal18seven
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: pa
Posts: 34
Default

Anybody? Please
Kal18seven is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-15-2013, 02:53 PM   #3
movementality
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 34
Default Just planted DHG with Fugeray

Just added a 3x5 bunch to my low tech Fugeray tank.

Will let you know in a week or two how it goes.


Set-up:
Light: Finnex Fugeray
Substrate: ADA aqausoil
Tank: Standard 10 gallon
CO2: None
movementality is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-15-2013, 04:16 PM   #4
carpalstunna
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
carpalstunna's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: canton, ohio
Posts: 481
Default

well, it depends I will tell you my experience. I am using a RAYII on a larger tank. I am getting par readings of about 45 right on my DHG and it is spreading rapidly. I would say any reading of 35-45 would give you adequate to good growth. So look at the par charts for the fixture for the depth of your tank and if you are going to get those levels I would say yes. Make sense?
carpalstunna is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-15-2013, 04:20 PM   #5
carpalstunna
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
carpalstunna's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: canton, ohio
Posts: 481
Default

Ill answer for you. Looks like you should be perfect with you tank size. Its 30X12X12 right? So assume the fixture is 3 inches of the water and you have 3 inches of subtrate so the fixture will be 12 inches form your hairgrass. par of 48 almost exactly what I am getting. I am also running pressurized CO2 at 30ppm and get rapid spreading. I say definitive yes.

carpalstunna is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-15-2013, 04:27 PM   #6
owens81jw
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 698
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal18seven View Post
Would a finnex fugeray on a 20 long tank, be enough to grow dwarf hairgrass?

more than Enough light, u might need Co2 also
owens81jw is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-15-2013, 04:52 PM   #7
Kal18seven
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: pa
Posts: 34
Default

I figured it would be good. I just wanted some second opinions, because I have read a lot about people having problems growing hairgrass. Any idea where to buy hairgrass so I know for when I set my tank up.
Thanks

Setup
Light Finnex fugeray
Substrate Eco Complete
Co2 Yes
Kal18seven is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-15-2013, 05:49 PM   #8
RubenG3
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: saint amant louisiana
Posts: 46
Default

I buy my plants from petsmart just bought the last bunch of hairgrass they had out here
RubenG3 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-15-2013, 06:30 PM   #9
carpalstunna
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
carpalstunna's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: canton, ohio
Posts: 481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal18seven View Post
I figured it would be good. I just wanted some second opinions, because I have read a lot about people having problems growing hairgrass. Any idea where to buy hairgrass so I know for when I set my tank up.
Thanks

Setup
Light Finnex fugeray
Substrate Eco Complete
Co2 Yes
I would say the people having problems have deeper tanks. On a 12 inch deep tank its much easier to get a light that can get the job done and finnex have the oomph you need. I wouldnt go anymore than that or you will run into algae problems Also I am on a 8 hour light cycle. I wouldnt go longer than that especially at first. Check out my thread I am growing DHG in ecocomplete with pressurized CO2 and dosing ferts EI.
carpalstunna is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012