When do you add plants to new set up?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Low Tech Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2013, 12:36 PM   #1
swimmingwiththefish
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Georgia
Posts: 26
Default

When do you add plants to new set up?


I'm starting my first planted tank. I'm planning to use Eco Complete as my substrate. When should I add plants to my set up? Do I put in substrate, equipment, water and plants all at once or do I set up aquarium with equipment, substrate, water then let it run for a while before adding plants? Thanks!
swimmingwiththefish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-10-2013, 01:17 PM   #2
Raymond S.
Planted Tank Guru
 
Raymond S.'s Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hot Springs Ar. 71901
Posts: 3,097
Default

Experience taught me to put in landscaping like rocks/logs etc first cause when I add it later(after plants) it don't
seem to "fit" like it does when the plants grow up around it. And tweezers help a lot on this. Bought a 15" pair
from this bay dealer...advantsino.
Don't have enough experience to say if the plants would be better off if left till days or weeks later though.
But watching the ADA videos on You Tube...they put them in before finishing filling up the tanks.

http://www.fishlore.com/NitrogenCycle.htm
Raymond S. is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-10-2013, 01:32 PM   #3
aquabruce
Planted Member
 
aquabruce's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Milford, MA
Posts: 250
Default

You can add you plants right away, no reason to wait.
They will help with the cycle.
aquabruce is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2013, 03:53 PM   #4
EvilFish
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Montreal
Posts: 288
Default

There won't be a nitrogen deficiency if I'll add the plants without the fishes?
EvilFish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2013, 06:42 PM   #5
tandaina
Planted Member
 
tandaina's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 164
Default

Soon as the substrate and hard scape are set. Plant, fill with water, cycle.
__________________
tandaina is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2013, 06:59 PM   #6
thelub
Newbie
 
thelub's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SE Washington
Posts: 1,968
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aquabruce View Post
You can add you plants right away, no reason to wait.
They will help with the cycle.
Quote:
Originally Posted by xmas_one View Post
Best way is to add all of the plants before the water even goes in. You want to start your tank as densely planted as possible from the beginning.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tandaina View Post
Soon as the substrate and hard scape are set. Plant, fill with water, cycle.
What they said. ^^^
thelub is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-12-2013, 01:01 AM   #7
swimmingwiththefish
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Georgia
Posts: 26
Default

Thanks everyone for the responses!
swimmingwiththefish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Tags
set up, substrate

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012