Fluval 305 Intake & Small Fish....
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2013, 10:00 PM   #1
AHGoodwin
Planted Member
 
AHGoodwin's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: New Hampshire, United States
Posts: 186
Default

Fluval 305 Intake & Small Fish....




I finally dug my old 305 out of storage, gave it a good cleaning and installed it. I knew the slits on the intake were way too big for my endlers so I covered it with a filter media bag. I woke up to find that one of my endlers were missing. Checked around and nowhere to be found in the tank. So, seeing that the media bag was somewhat sucked into the intake I turned off the filter and pulled it out and sure enough, there was the missing and now dead endler. But there was also an unidentifiable mass. I did another check and sure enough, I can't find my second favorite guppy.

What is the best option for covering the intake without greatly reducing flow?
__________________
~Tomorrow is never promised~
AHGoodwin is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-05-2013, 11:55 PM   #2
Cally95
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Wasington,DC
Posts: 18
Default

Amazon.com: Fluval EDGE Pre-Filter Sponge: Pet Supplies Amazon.com: Fluval EDGE Pre-Filter Sponge: Pet Supplies

I use this on all my filter intakes. Already cut and fits perfect. If the link doesnt work google "fluval edge intake sponge"
Cally95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 12:15 AM   #3
Tzac
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 303
Default

I just cut a piece of filter sponge to size and shove it on.
Tzac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 04:06 PM   #4
AHGoodwin
Planted Member
 
AHGoodwin's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: New Hampshire, United States
Posts: 186
Default

So, I got the Edge Sponges. I never got them before because I thought they would be too small. Now I m not sure what I should do. I would really need to stretch and might break it to try to get it over the intake. Do I just leave the current intake off and just put the sponge directly on the tube?
__________________
~Tomorrow is never promised~
AHGoodwin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 10:34 PM   #5
Bandit1200
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Bandit1200's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 600
Default

scroll down to see my replies/photos on this previous post:

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...177&highlight=

The problem you will run into using the edge filter is that it will clog up FAST, at least mine did.
Bandit1200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012