Anyone using the ISTA Spiral reactor?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2013, 04:36 PM   #1
MrSlumpy
Planted Member
 
MrSlumpy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: TX, USA
Posts: 244
Default

Anyone using the ISTA Spiral reactor?


It looks like this:



And is available on ebay via the search "ISTA External CO2 Ceramic Reactor Diffuser 16/22mm for aquarium plants Spiral"

Anyone have any experience with it? It looked like a nifty gizmo to me so I ordered one based on my love of cheap nifty gizmos.

I've been pretty happy with the ISTA Max Mix reactors until recently when one of mine started making more noise than it should. I took it apart and cleaned it and it quieted down a bit, but I'd prefer not to have to do that very often, if ever.

And before you tell me I should just DIY please note that my time is worth more to me than money, especially considering the low cost of these types of reactors. I like DIY projects but only when they save me a good chunk of cash. I'm sure there are a few others that agree.

Anyhow, somebody has to have one of these things out there, eh? I won't get mine for a couple of weeks since it's coming from overseas.
__________________
MrSlumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-08-2013, 10:56 PM   #2
geesantoz
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: east bay
Posts: 51
Default

why don't you try it since money is not an issue

I have the same use on ISTA max mix Large, and not try to do DIY with same reason. I try couple of model with inline + ceramic difusser, and later ISTA max mix large ...

but at a point that i am not satisfied on the performance to support 75G tank, i have to make a switch to cerges (a little bit DIY, but not taking as much as time as i think initially) ... and glad i did that.

from what i see on cerges, i don't need to maintain as much as ISTA, no moving part ... it reduce usage on CO2, and no micro bubble in my tank as with ISTA max mix ... so it all meet my requirement.
geesantoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 12:44 AM   #3
BriDroid
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 348
Default

It seems to me that the spinning part would cut down your flow?
BriDroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 01:03 AM   #4
MrSlumpy
Planted Member
 
MrSlumpy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: TX, USA
Posts: 244
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BriDroid View Post
It seems to me that the spinning part would cut down your flow?
Yeah it might. When I get it I'll try and take a measurement by filling a 5 gallon bucket from the output of the filter with and without the reactor and timing it.

In my case it shouldn't matter too much since I'll be installing it on a filter that's oversized for the tank anyway.
__________________
MrSlumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012