amount of substrate
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-30-2013, 11:39 PM   #1
Beautifuldisaster172
Planted Member
 
Beautifuldisaster172's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Maine
Posts: 201
Default

amount of substrate


everywhere when i see substrate for sale it said 2lbs per gallon. is that much really needed or is that just a sales gimmick. i have a tall 45 so it doesnt have as much floor space as a 40 breeder....how much should i need for my tank?
Beautifuldisaster172 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-31-2013, 01:55 AM   #2
drewsuf82
Wannabe Guru
 
drewsuf82's Avatar
 
PTrader: (62/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Port Richey, FL
Posts: 1,757
Default

I usually use 2-4 lbs per gallon, it all depends on if you're going to be having a lot of rooted plants. Plus doing it that way you can slope and create contours in your gravel. If you think you have enough it usually stores well for your next tank
drewsuf82 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 02:00 AM   #3
Axelrod12
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Axelrod12's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 638
Default

Double post. Sorry.
Axelrod12 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 02:01 AM   #4
Axelrod12
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Axelrod12's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 638
Default

Its not exactly a sales gimmick. Its more of a recommended guideline. The footprint of the tank definitely effects what you need though. I believe the type of substrate can also change what you need too but don't quote me on that. I think I've seen calculators for figuring around what you'd need for a desired depth. Try googling for one.

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
Axelrod12 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 02:43 AM   #5
fishwater
Planted Member
 
fishwater's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Missoula, Montana
Posts: 169
Default

This should help:
http://www.plantedtank.net/substratecalculator.html

__________________
Eheim Pimp #533
46g
fishwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 03:30 AM   #6
Beautifuldisaster172
Planted Member
 
Beautifuldisaster172's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Maine
Posts: 201
Default

thanks, that was very helpful
Beautifuldisaster172 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012