best way to clean ecocomplete?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2013, 02:35 PM   #1
spifff
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: piscataway nj
Posts: 19
Default

best way to clean ecocomplete?


hey all i have a 55 gallon planted but i'm gonna be redoing it and i want to rinse the substrate clean, can i rinse it out like i would sand?
Dave
spifff is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-29-2013, 02:58 PM   #2
oldpunk78
ಠ_ಠ
 
oldpunk78's Avatar
 
PTrader: (104/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: 96007
Posts: 5,010
Default

Bucket + Hose
oldpunk78 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2013, 08:18 PM   #3
Mebbid
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Mount Pleasant, MI USA
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldpunk78 View Post
Bucket + Hose
Don't forget cursing. That goes along with cleaning any kind of substrate
__________________
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-30-2013, 01:36 AM   #4
spifff
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: piscataway nj
Posts: 19
Default

ended up downsizing to a 20 long good thing i only had 4 fish in that tank. the center brace broke, i didn't trust it. used some flourite i had instead, thinking it might be easier to vacuum. it's gonna look like a jungle with those plants stuffed in there even after i trim them down.
plan to replace the 55 with either a 75 or 90.
Dave
spifff is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-30-2013, 01:43 AM   #5
jfynyson
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
jfynyson's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: NC
Posts: 660
Default

Shouldn't be vacuuming the substrate anyways. Simply hover the suction tube a couple inches about it and allow waste to flow up off the bottom. You'll want to leave some though as a little is healthy for the plants just remove what's visibly unappealing.
jfynyson is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012