DYI CO2 Setup Questions
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2004, 05:29 PM   #1
jeffreyrichard
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: RI, USA
Posts: 18
Default

I have a heavily planted 55 gallon tank (Val, crypts, rotallia, several small swords) with dozen cardinal tetras, 5 rummynose tetras, 5 emperor tetras, two pearl gouramis, 6 Corydoras sterbai and five juv angelfish. My tank is lit with two 110 watt (VHO/Icecap) bulbs.

The tank has been running in this configuration for about a year and a half. I've had extremely good growth w/o CO2 (I need to pull vals every other week, crypts are multiplying, though the Rotallia isn't as bushy as I'd like).

I have a CO2 Reactor I purchased on Aquabid that is a PVC drum (6 inch diameter) with an airline valve on the top. It's about 10 inches high, and I fill it with 2 cups of sugar and another 5-6 cups water.

I have had this hooked up to a small powerhead in the past, but haven't used it for about 6 months.

QUESTIONS
1) How will adding a Power Reactor (from Plantguild) help? Is it incrementaly better than the small powerhead?

2) Someone suggested that I have 2 yeast reactors feeding the tank, mostly so I don't have to worry about production drop off (staggard maintenance/refill schedules). Is one PVC reactor enough, or should I think about adding another?

3) If I add a second yeast reactor, can I hook it up to the same power reactor/defussior?

4) Do I need to worry about CO2 production at night? It is too impractical to shut off CO2 manually every night.

5) Any other suggestions for get the most out of a DYI setup for my 55? (other equipment or configuration)

Thanks!
jeffreyrichard is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-19-2004, 06:54 PM   #2
Fat Guy
Wannabe Guru
 
Fat Guy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: new york, new york
Posts: 1,467
Default

Hi Jeffrey,

What are your water params in your tank?

KH, pH ...

Do you add any buffers.

Let's start there before adding more reactors to your tank. You probably will need to. Your vals and microsum pteropus don't really need a lot of light and therefore, aren't as demanding of co2. However, this does not mean that they won't benefit from it. That's also why your rotala isn't flourishing in your tank. It needs a little more light then your giving it. However, before going off and buying more lights, start by figuring out what your water params are. Then you'll be able to measure co2 and can move on from there.

What kind of rotala is it? What color?
__________________
Fat Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reef Tank Conversion - Concerns and Questions Silent Running General Planted Tank Discussion 18 10-04-2004 01:14 PM
CO2 setup correctly? FiberCon Equipment 6 07-03-2004 01:33 AM
questions on new setup chinomano147 General Planted Tank Discussion 2 03-29-2004 05:05 AM
YAENPTS Question(s) - Yet Another Newbie Planted Tank Setup edsel General Planted Tank Discussion 3 08-14-2003 05:52 PM
Starting a new tank...Questions Moebius Equipment 24 04-16-2003 10:08 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012