If dirt, then no ferts?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-14-2013, 09:01 PM   #1
cowfish007
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York (Long Island)
Posts: 78
Default

If dirt, then no ferts?


I'm in the process of setting up my first "dirt" aquarium. If I use MGOCPM do I still need to use ferts? I know it'll be necessary over time, but will the miracle grow provide what's needed without ferts for 6-12 months?

Still figuring out my plant list, but will definitley include DHG, wisteria, annbis, ludwigia and cabomba.

The aquarium will have either 2 t8 or 2 t5ho bulbs for light. Not sure which lighting I want to use yet.
cowfish007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-14-2013, 09:05 PM   #2
pikachux3
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: southern california
Posts: 109
Default

Usings ferts will allow the nutrient in the dirt to last longer.
pikachux3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 09:16 PM   #3
xmas_one
Planted Tank Guru
 
xmas_one's Avatar
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 3,251
Default

Ferts in the water are always a plus, doesn't matter if it's low tech or not. If you're going to go with higher lighting then co2 and fert dosing is a must.

Ferts> co2> Light
xmas_one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 11:41 PM   #4
Tzac
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 303
Default

All on your list but the DHG are water column feeders, so using ferts will be a big help. The dirt is really good for things like Swords and Crypts that are heavy root feeders.
Tzac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 04:03 AM   #5
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,566
Default

Quote:
If I use MGOCPM do I still need to use ferts?
You have plates and bowls, but you also use food, right?

Substrate is like a plate or a bowl. It holds ferts, but is not in itself a fertilizer.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012