Drop checker
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2013, 06:51 PM   #1
Subtletanks91
Moss'n shrimp pimp
 
Subtletanks91's Avatar
 
PTrader: (39/100%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Redwood city, ca
Posts: 2,493
Default

Drop checker


I have had my pressurized system running for about 2 weeks now. And I also have a drop checker with standard 4dkh solution and mixed it with 4 drops API ph solution. The problem is I am not getting any colr change. I run my co2 at 3bps. I have a 55g aquarium, any thoughs?
__________________
must....have.....more....moss n shrimp!!!!!!!!!!

Subtletanks91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-06-2013, 06:58 PM   #2
ccar2000
Planted Member
 
ccar2000's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Littlerock, CA
Posts: 223
Default

Can you test the pH with another means? That might help to indicate if the co2 is getting in the water.
__________________
Everything will be all right in the end... if it's not all right then it's not yet the end. Sonny: The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel
ccar2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 07:04 PM   #3
Subtletanks91
Moss'n shrimp pimp
 
Subtletanks91's Avatar
 
PTrader: (39/100%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Redwood city, ca
Posts: 2,493
Default

My ph is 6.4 as it always is. I buffer the water with keta peat in the filter to kep the water soft and low ph for my angels.
__________________
must....have.....more....moss n shrimp!!!!!!!!!!

Subtletanks91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 08:51 PM   #4
Lornek8
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Kaneohe, Hawaii
Posts: 532
Default

If you're not getting a change in ph then you're not getting enough co2. There is a table that associates ph, kh and co2 levels.
Lornek8 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 08:59 PM   #5
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,453
Default

The table is not very accurate when there is anything else (like peat) confusing the issue. However, the total lack of pH change in the tank water goes along with the lack of change in the drop checker.
So little CO2 is getting dissolved in the water that it is either used up or off gassed before it can make a significant change to the pH.
Diana is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 12:39 AM   #6
ccar2000
Planted Member
 
ccar2000's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Littlerock, CA
Posts: 223
Default

Is this a new setup or was 3bps working for you and suddenly stopped working? How did you arrive at 3bps for your dosing rate? With you particular water parameters is the rule of thumb for adding co2 based on pH not applicable? Whereas you add co2 to lower the pH by one degree.
__________________
Everything will be all right in the end... if it's not all right then it's not yet the end. Sonny: The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel
ccar2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 12:52 AM   #7
xmas_one
Planted Tank Guru
 
xmas_one's Avatar
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 3,250
Default

Are you using the low range pH solution? If so, what color is it?
xmas_one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 12:57 AM   #8
latchdan
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
latchdan's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paso Robles, Ca
Posts: 419
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Subtletanks91 View Post
I have had my pressurized system running for about 2 weeks now. And I also have a drop checker with standard 4dkh solution and mixed it with 4 drops API ph solution. The problem is I am not getting any colr change. I run my co2 at 3bps. I have a 55g aquarium, any thoughs?
How is the co2 being diffused into the water? Is there a lot of surface disturbance?

Check ph before co2 turns on in the morning, check it in 2 hrs then check mid-day. Check right before co2 turns off. See if the ph changes at all.
latchdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 02:34 AM   #9
Subtletanks91
Moss'n shrimp pimp
 
Subtletanks91's Avatar
 
PTrader: (39/100%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Redwood city, ca
Posts: 2,493
Default

The lowest my ph test goes is 6.4 I think. I am running it with a standard knock off mr aqua 003 diffuser, I dose flourish comp, leaf zone and flourish iron once a week. And given the size of the tank I thought 3bps was a good starting point, given my dosing schedule should I increase the amount of doses I do weekly, or increase the bps? Or both.

I just added another t5 7500 bulb to the existing one as will so have two the same light bulbs.
__________________
must....have.....more....moss n shrimp!!!!!!!!!!

Subtletanks91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 09:54 PM   #10
mark546
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: midwest
Posts: 127
Default

Make sure your ph solution is not expired. I am tuning in my co2 system on my 55g. I am using an inline Up Aqua atomizer which is the most efficient method I can fit under my cabinet. I have little surface disruption and right now at 6-7 bps my drop checker is aqua. if this gives you a reference point.
mark546 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 10:18 PM   #11
Subtletanks91
Moss'n shrimp pimp
 
Subtletanks91's Avatar
 
PTrader: (39/100%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Redwood city, ca
Posts: 2,493
Default

It does give me a starting point, I have little surface disruption as well I'm running a knock off mr aqua diffuser, gla atomic bubble counter and gla atomic paintball v2 regulator. My ph solution is good until two years from now. I see a slight change in color today increasing bps.
__________________
must....have.....more....moss n shrimp!!!!!!!!!!

Subtletanks91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 12:22 AM   #12
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 9,255
Default

3 bubbles per second may not necessarily be enough for your 55 gallon aquarium (since you mentioned that you are starting to see a change in colour by increasing the flow rate).

Another thing to consider is that you may have a leak between the bubble counter and your aquarium.
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 05:26 AM   #13
Subtletanks91
Moss'n shrimp pimp
 
Subtletanks91's Avatar
 
PTrader: (39/100%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Redwood city, ca
Posts: 2,493
Default

I checked to make sure there are no leaks I had a cup of water and checked all connections. I'm using two check valves along with the check valve in the bubble counter. I increased to 5bps and it's turned green now. A bluefish green. It's hard to see color change because of my black background though.
__________________
must....have.....more....moss n shrimp!!!!!!!!!!

Subtletanks91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 11:10 AM   #14
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 9,255
Default

If you have some plastic that is white (say a white container lid, etc), you can quickly put it behind the drop checker to determine its colour more easily.
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 04:39 PM   #15
Subtletanks91
Moss'n shrimp pimp
 
Subtletanks91's Avatar
 
PTrader: (39/100%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Redwood city, ca
Posts: 2,493
Default

I never though of that that's a good idea haha. Thank you. See this is why I love forums. Everyone here to help
__________________
must....have.....more....moss n shrimp!!!!!!!!!!

Subtletanks91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012