Ammonia from breaking Chloramine Bond
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2013, 03:46 AM   #1
Asu1776
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Asu1776's Avatar
 
PTrader: (32/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Oakland, California
Posts: 427
Default

Ammonia from breaking Chloramine Bond


Hi all,

My tap water comes with chloramines, which I am breaking apart with Stress Coast plus. My question is, if anyone knows how to remove the ammonia as well, or do you guys add conditioners that lock up the ammonia and wait for the biological filter to take care of it.

Thanks!
Asu1776 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-30-2013, 04:44 AM   #2
ccar2000
Planted Member
 
ccar2000's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Littlerock, CA
Posts: 223
Default

I use Seachem Prime
http://www.seachem.com/Products/prod...ges/Prime.html
PrimeŽ removes chlorine, chloramine and ammonia. PrimeŽ converts ammonia into a safe, non-toxic form that is readily removed by the tank’s biofilter
__________________
Everything will be all right in the end... if it's not all right then it's not yet the end. Sonny: The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel
ccar2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 04:04 PM   #3
Asu1776
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Asu1776's Avatar
 
PTrader: (32/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Oakland, California
Posts: 427
Default

Do you eyeball the amount you need for a water change?
Asu1776 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 04:20 PM   #4
ccar2000
Planted Member
 
ccar2000's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Littlerock, CA
Posts: 223
Default

Yeah, I pretty much eyeball it. I add it to the tank before adding water.

"Use 1 capful (5 mL) for each 200 L (50 gallons*) of new water. This removes approximately 1 mg/L ammonia, 4 mg/L chloramine, or 5 mg/L chlorine. For smaller doses, please note each cap thread is approx. 1 mL. May be added to aquarium directly, but better if added to new water first. If adding directly to aquarium, base dose on aquarium volume. Sulfur odor is normal. For exceptionally high chloramine concentrations, a double dose may be used safely. To detoxify nitrite in an emergency, up to 5 times normal dose may be used. If temperature is > 30 °C (86 °F) and chlorine or ammonia levels are low, use a half dose."
__________________
Everything will be all right in the end... if it's not all right then it's not yet the end. Sonny: The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel
ccar2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 09:07 PM   #5
thelub
Newbie
 
thelub's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SE Washington
Posts: 1,962
Default

If you add the prime (or whatever) to the tank, you're completely negating the effects of the additive. You need to add the prime (or whatever you're using) to a container of water BEFORE you put it in the tank.

I use a 5gal water jug for fills and top offs. I fill with tap water, add prime, shake it up, smell it (if it smells like chlorine, add more prime) then dump it into the aquarium.
thelub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 10:21 PM   #6
lipadj46
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
lipadj46's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thelub View Post
If you add the prime (or whatever) to the tank, you're completely negating the effects of the additive. You need to add the prime (or whatever you're using) to a container of water BEFORE you put it in the tank.

I use a 5gal water jug for fills and top offs. I fill with tap water, add prime, shake it up, smell it (if it smells like chlorine, add more prime) then dump it into the aquarium.
Not true. You can dose either way. When adding prime to tank dose for full tank volume

sent from an undisclosed location using morse code
lipadj46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 10:32 PM   #7
thelub
Newbie
 
thelub's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SE Washington
Posts: 1,962
Default

Ok, you can do that, but why would you? That would be a huge waste of prime. You can use a far less amount if you just treat what you're adding.
thelub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 10:45 PM   #8
ccar2000
Planted Member
 
ccar2000's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Littlerock, CA
Posts: 223
Default

Whatever, at like 12 cents a mL I would rather treat my whole tank for 60 cents than to add it then sniff check it.

By the way, Prime smells bad too.
__________________
Everything will be all right in the end... if it's not all right then it's not yet the end. Sonny: The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel

Last edited by Darkblade48; 10-01-2013 at 03:38 PM.. Reason: Please use the edit function for back to back posts to keep threads cleaner
ccar2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 11:25 PM   #9
thelub
Newbie
 
thelub's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SE Washington
Posts: 1,962
Default

If you're working with a small tank, treating it all would be like me adding it to my 5g water jug to fill up my bigger tank
thelub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 02:10 AM   #10
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,302
Default

Read the ingredients and actions of your dechlor (stress coat plus)
and compare it to something like Prime, or Chloramine Buster.
Compare the price, too.

I use Chloramine Buster. It is about the same price as Prime (few cents to treat 10 gallons) and does not smell.
No added things that my fish do not need.
No slime coat enhancer (healthy fish produce plenty of slime coat- no need to irritate them into producing more)
No electrolytes (fertilizers are actually electrolytes)
No enzymes, or other microbial life related things. A healthy tank maintains a good, balanced population of these things. I do not want to mess up that balance.
I do not have a problem with heavy metals, but I could buy a chelator (powdered) if needed.

Prime and Chloramine Buster:
Break apart the chlorine-ammonia bond.
Lock up chlorine.
Lock up ammonia.

And that is what I buy them to do.

From Drs F&S:
Stress Coat Plus
16 oz treats 960 gallons cost 6.59 + shipping. Ignoring shipping this comes out to almost 7 cents per 10 gallons of treated water.
Many of the similar dechlorinators with 'extra stuff' cost about this or more.

Prime
500 ml treats 5,000 gallons cost 11.69 + shipping. Ignoring shipping this comes out to a little over 2 cents per 10 gallons of treated water.

Chloramine Buster (Clear Pond web site)
16 oz treats 8,000 gallons - $13.50 + shipping. Ignoring shipping this comes out to
a little under 2 cents per 10 gallons of treated water.
If I wanted to buy dry chelator, there is one site that sells small amounts (2 oz dry weight) that translates to 600 doses for 10 gallons for 12.95 (plus shipping). So, if I had to add this to the cost of Chloramine Plus then I would have to double the price: To 4 cents per 10 gallons of treated water.
Diana is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 05:34 AM   #11
jpappy789
Wannabe Guru
 
jpappy789's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,045
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thelub View Post
If you add the prime (or whatever) to the tank, you're completely negating the effects of the additive. You need to add the prime (or whatever you're using) to a container of water BEFORE you put it in the tank.

I use a 5gal water jug for fills and top offs. I fill with tap water, add prime, shake it up, smell it (if it smells like chlorine, add more prime) then dump it into the aquarium.
It's going to be rather difficult to add Prime to a python hose while you are adding water back to the tank......
__________________
jpappy789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 01:46 PM   #12
Nu2Plants
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 100
Default

I don't know, coming from more of a saltwater background, the idea of adding water directly from your tap to your tank is almost horrifying for me. I know people do it all the time with a python. But the idea to run it right in without aging it, without adjusting things like temp, conditioning it first, testing the parameters first before adding it, sounds almost wreckless. I don't think I'd ever do it that way.
Nu2Plants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 02:03 PM   #13
ccar2000
Planted Member
 
ccar2000's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Littlerock, CA
Posts: 223
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nu2Plants View Post
I don't know, coming from more of a saltwater background, the idea of adding water directly from your tap to your tank is almost horrifying for me. I know people do it all the time with a python. But the idea to run it right in without aging it, without adjusting things like temp, conditioning it first, testing the parameters first before adding it, sounds almost wreckless. I don't think I'd ever do it that way.
When doing a large change out I adjust the faucet to temper the water, add Prime to the tank and pour the water in a 5g bucket at a time. When adding a half gallon or so for make up, I just pour it into the tank overflow without treatment. I have never kept a saltwater or reef tank but I believe that freshwater is more forgiving like that. My planted aquarium is a 46g bowfront with a 10g wet/dry sump.
__________________
Everything will be all right in the end... if it's not all right then it's not yet the end. Sonny: The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel
ccar2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 02:06 PM   #14
roadmaster
Wannabe Guru
 
roadmaster's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Missouri united states
Posts: 1,917
Default

Been running water from tap to tank after feeling it for temp for 40 yrs.
Used to add Prime only for amount of water removed until...water company began increasing chlorine,chloramine content a couple times a year ,often without warning.
I now add enough prime to the tank for entire volume just before new water goes in.
roadmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 02:07 PM   #15
ccar2000
Planted Member
 
ccar2000's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Littlerock, CA
Posts: 223
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roadmaster View Post
Been running water from tap to tank after feeling it for temp for 40 yrs.
Used to add Prime only for amount of water removed until...water company began increasing chlorine,chloramine content a couple times a year ,often without warning.
I now add enough prime to the tank for entire volume just before new water goes in.
+1 likewise
__________________
Everything will be all right in the end... if it's not all right then it's not yet the end. Sonny: The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel
ccar2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012