Lighting for 60g Fluval
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2013, 11:05 PM   #1
Mr31415
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Surrey, Canada
Posts: 30
Default

Lighting for 60g Fluval


Hi,

As you can see I am new here. I am used to maintaining reef aquariums which naturally require lots of lights. Moving to a planted aquarium things are very different it seems.

I have purchased a Fluval Profile 850 tank (dimensions are 85cm x 46cm x 60cm (W x D x H)). It is a 60 gallon tank. I have a 3" substrate consisting of EcoComplete.

The tank comes with 4 x Life Glo T5 Fluorescent Bulb High Output 24w. I am injecting CO2 and following the PPS-Pro dosing method. It is a heavily planted tank (well it will be once it is done).

My question is - assuming I am not going for any extremely demanding plants, would this light be sufficient?
Mr31415 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-20-2013, 10:02 PM   #2
Mr31415
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Surrey, Canada
Posts: 30
Default

Anyone?
Mr31415 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2013, 10:12 PM   #3
gus6464
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,600
Default

That quad T5HO light is enough to grow pretty much anything.
gus6464 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2013, 10:34 PM   #4
Mr31415
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Surrey, Canada
Posts: 30
Default

Any reason why my Dwarf Hairgrass is turning brown then? I though it was because they are 24" deep down on the bottom and not getting enough light.
Mr31415 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2013, 11:50 PM   #5
gus6464
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,600
Default

You ferting the soil? What's your substrate? DHG are root feeders.
gus6464 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2013, 11:51 PM   #6
Mr31415
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Surrey, Canada
Posts: 30
Default

I have about 3"-4" of EcoComplete. Dose PPS-Pro & inject CO2.
Mr31415 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2013, 12:20 AM   #7
gus6464
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,600
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr31415 View Post
I have about 3"-4" of EcoComplete. Dose PPS-Pro & inject CO2.
So I guess that's a no for soil ferts. Eco has no nutrient content whatsoever. Drop in some root tabs like O+.
gus6464 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2013, 12:51 AM   #8
Mr31415
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Surrey, Canada
Posts: 30
Default

Stupid question but why would a root tablet add more nutrients to the soil than the liquid fertilizer in the water column? Just trying to understand. Will give it a try!
Mr31415 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2013, 01:30 AM   #9
gus6464
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,600
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr31415 View Post
Stupid question but why would a root tablet add more nutrients to the soil than the liquid fertilizer in the water column? Just trying to understand. Will give it a try!
Because there are plants that require water column fertilization while others require soil fertilization.
gus6464 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2013, 01:59 AM   #10
Mr31415
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Surrey, Canada
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gus6464 View Post
Because there are plants that require water column fertilization while others require soil fertilization.
Sure, but would the tablets not just dissolve in to the water column as well?
Mr31415 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012