fluval external setup
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2013, 12:18 PM   #1
clusty
Algae Grower
 
clusty's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Montreal
Posts: 30
Default

fluval external setup


Hey,

I recently received a fluval external filter and will shortly receive an inline CO2 diffuser and a heater.

Does the order matter in which I connect them, as long as they are on the exit line ?
clusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-28-2013, 02:05 PM   #2
steven p
Wannabe Guru
 
steven p's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: columbus, ne
Posts: 1,497
Default

Cooler water holds gasses more readily, but I don't know if it would really matter, I don't have anything inline...
__________________
steven p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 03:07 PM   #3
Nightspell
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Nightspell's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pacific Northwest US
Posts: 304
Default

Don't think so... On my 306 I have Filter > Heater > Diffuser, just because I figured the gas would be cooler (being compressed) and may cool water a little before passing over the thermometer in the ETH Heater...
Nightspell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 12:20 AM   #4
clusty
Algae Grower
 
clusty's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Montreal
Posts: 30
Default

Would placing the reactor on the intake be a smart thing?
How do impellers handle slight bubbles and how to nitrobacteria like CO2 ?
clusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 11:08 PM   #5
manlyfan76
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 133
Default

I would think that heating the bubbles would make them expand. also you don't want gas around the heater when the system shuts off.
__________________
Faux Fashion Statement
manlyfan76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 01:10 AM   #6
AnotherHobby
Wannabe Guru
 
AnotherHobby's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Apple Valley, MN
Posts: 1,363
Default

I would think that at the rate which the heater heats the water and the rate at which water moves through the heater (really quite fast), that any effect the heat has on anything is probably pretty negligible. My heater is last because it physically fit easier that way under my tank. I get zero bubbles in my tank with my Cerges reactor.

For me: In Flow Lily Pipe > Filter > Cerges CO2 Reactor > Heater > Out Flow Lily Pipe
AnotherHobby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 04:18 AM   #7
King of Hyrule
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
King of Hyrule's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Posts: 487
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clusty View Post
Would placing the reactor on the intake be a smart thing?
How do impellers handle slight bubbles and how to nitrobacteria like CO2 ?
No. The CO2 bubbles will cause problems with your impeller.

Everything should be attached to the return line.
__________________
Father of the Princess Zelda.
King of Hyrule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 03:09 PM   #8
Nightspell
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Nightspell's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pacific Northwest US
Posts: 304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clusty View Post
Would placing the reactor on the intake be a smart thing?
How do impellers handle slight bubbles and how to nitrobacteria like CO2 ?
No, you want clean water going through diffuser. EVERYTHING, actually, but especially diffuser.

Last edited by Nightspell; 09-06-2013 at 04:07 PM.. Reason: edit
Nightspell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 03:21 AM   #9
clusty
Algae Grower
 
clusty's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Montreal
Posts: 30
Default

Looks like I got by mistake 12mm Co2 diffuser and glass in/outflow glass pipes.
Think they are going to have a huge negative effect on the flow rate?
clusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 08:45 AM   #10
dre
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: London
Posts: 23
Default

yup, thats definitely going to slow down your flow.

I have my Co2 reactor first on my outflow pipe then the heater. The reason I did that is so the bubbles from the reactor have the most amount of time in the tubes before hitting the aquarium, I don't know if it helps or not but just seemed to make sense to me that the longer they are in the outflow tube the more delusion i am getting...
dre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 01:25 PM   #11
jbrady33
Wannabe Guru
 
jbrady33's Avatar
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Mt Laurel, NJ
Posts: 1,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dre View Post

the more delusion i am getting...
thanks Dre, that's one auto-correct that made me laugh (and I can identify with)
__________________
jbrady33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 05:22 PM   #12
dre
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: London
Posts: 23
Default

lol, woops... I mean diffusion
dre is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012