lava gravel substrate
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-31-2013, 10:41 PM   #1
pfarris
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: santa maria
Posts: 25
Default

lava gravel substrate


My lfs sold me on lava substrate for my planted tank. Its been a couple of weeks now wnd I don t feel the plants are really rooting and taking off. Has anybody planted with this substrate. Wondering if I should mix another in with it?
__________________
90 soon to be planted! Beamworks 3 watt led. Lava and sand substrate.
pfarris is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-01-2013, 02:58 PM   #2
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (435/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,498
Default

What kind of plants? What kind of fertilizer are you using?

Lava rock is inert, so there's no nutrient content for plants. You have to add that yourself - via root tabs or fert dosing.
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 05:09 PM   #3
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,701
Default

How fine is the material? If it is almost pea sized, then I would remove it and use a good plant substrate. If it is sand-sized then it may work just fine, but definitely needs fertilizer.
Diana is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 10:12 PM   #4
lochaber
Planted Tank Guru
 
lochaber's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 2,080
Default

I imagine it wouldn't be much different from using any other gravel, except maybe quite a bit cheaper. I doubt it had a decent CEC, and as said above, it's inert, so you would have to add something to supply nutrients (dirt, root tabs, water column dosing, etc.).

The plant roots might like the texture of the stuff better, but I don't really have anything to support that.
lochaber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 03:44 AM   #5
pfarris
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: santa maria
Posts: 25
Default

Im using co2 booster in the morning. Leaf zone once a week, and flourish twice a week. I will be adding co2 this weekend. The lava rock is about half the size of a pea. Im kind of pissed because I thoght it was high in iron. The beamswork light has 32 3 watt leds. I wasnt sure if that was enough light so I added a zoo med t5 I had. Im trying to grow dwarf hair grass and glosso, a few other misc for now. Would Suck to have to redo the substrate. any guidance would sure be appreciated
__________________
90 soon to be planted! Beamworks 3 watt led. Lava and sand substrate.
pfarris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 03:15 AM   #6
pfarris
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: santa maria
Posts: 25
Default

Do you guys think I could add flourite over tbe top and let it settle in?
__________________
90 soon to be planted! Beamworks 3 watt led. Lava and sand substrate.
pfarris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 08:27 PM   #7
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (435/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,498
Default

Flourite is also inert. So you'd still need to use root tabs or other fertilizer.
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012