50g Paludarium with water running over planted rock ledge (video update #3)
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion > Riparium/Terrarium/Vivarium


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2013, 09:29 PM   #1
wheatiesl337
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 317
Default

50g Paludarium with water running over planted rock ledge (video update #3)


I have always been infatuated with builds making use of both aquatic and terrestrial space, so I decided to build one. This is practice for a future set up, more square in dimension, that will house some fire-bellied toads and fish.

I have posted some pictures documenting the process in the tank journal thread (linked in signature), but it gets burried very quickly there, so I decided to post my first video here. It is a low quality-cell phone vid, but I hope to use the wife's 60d and shoot a good quality video in the near future.

http://youtu.be/lC3FLow-BkQ

I am not really sure what to call this build. Is it a riparium?

I think the emerged crypts would benefit from a bit higher humidity, but I haven't yet found a mister or fogger that is well-reviewed. Any suggestions?

Thanks for any input or feedback.

Last edited by wheatiesl337; 10-10-2013 at 12:37 AM.. Reason: grammars
wheatiesl337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-04-2013, 01:45 AM   #2
thebuddha
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
thebuddha's Avatar
 
PTrader: (24/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 616
Default

looks awesome man
thebuddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 02:55 PM   #3
pweifan
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (58/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 733
Default

I love this look. Have you ever had problem with mold?
pweifan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 04:22 PM   #4
wheatiesl337
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 317
Default

I haven't had any issues with mold yet. I wipe the glass down once a week, and I would eventually like to set up a CPU fan pointed at the front glass. I think I would need a mister or fogger on a timer for the crpyts though if I do this.

I have run into an issue growing algeas on the rock ledges where water is running over. I have reduced my light and grown christmas moss in the area. This has helped. My nerites also crawl up on the ledges to scrape algea.

Still working on hanging or mounting my lights so I can take better video/photo.
wheatiesl337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 05:26 PM   #5
shiloh
Planted Member
 
shiloh's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 194
Default

Nice! The fish seem to like it.
__________________
shiloh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 05:31 PM   #6
MiniFishRoom
Planted Member
 
MiniFishRoom's Avatar
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: MSP
Posts: 244
Default

Looks awesome!
__________________
"Semper Fi"
MiniFishRoom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 05:44 PM   #7
kinhawk
Newbie
 
kinhawk's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 2
Default

www.mistking.com
kinhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 11:09 PM   #8
wheatiesl337
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 317
Default

Thanks for the comments. I will look into the mistking products, as I have seen them mentioned around here before.

Hopefully I'll have another video up in the future that is higher quality (not cell phone! it can't handle reflections off the rock, I swear the glare isnt that bad in person). Lots of new growth from the mosses and plants on the rock ledge.
wheatiesl337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 08:12 PM   #9
wheatiesl337
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 317
Default

I posted some updated pictures to this tank here:

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...00&postcount=4

I have a bit more tinker to do to get the tank where I want it I think. I'll work on getting a new video up once it's there.
wheatiesl337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 08:21 PM   #10
wheatiesl337
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 317
Default Video Update #2

As promised, a video update. Two brief videos to show the great emergent crypt growth and my tinkerings underwater: added some crypt. spiralis and driftwood. I am very pleased with the look of the spiralis.
Video Update #2:

Side View

Top View
wheatiesl337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 11:36 PM   #11
wheatiesl337
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 317
Default

I posted my fourth photo update in my tank journal here.

My third video update is also posted.

My favorite new addition has to be this guy:


Last edited by wheatiesl337; 10-09-2013 at 11:36 PM.. Reason: typo
wheatiesl337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 11:56 PM   #12
jmeister
Algae Grower
 
jmeister's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 54
Default

looks great, the parva really filled out
jmeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 01:47 AM   #13
jpappy789
Wannabe Guru
 
jpappy789's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,045
Default

Happen to know your the TDS of the water? I've always wanted to combine CP's with aquariums but I've always lived in areas with water high in minerals/TDS...right now I get just above 300 ppm in my tanks, which still out of range for even hardy CP's like D. capensis to survive. Thought about cutting with RO but that's more expensive and time consuming than hooking right up to the faucet...
__________________
jpappy789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 04:41 AM   #14
wheatiesl337
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 317
Default

Tap water here is liquid rock unfortunately (~333 TDS and 8.4+ pH). Most my favorite fish and shrimp are soft water though, so I was already using re-mineralized RO water. I installed a Costco RO filter. I keep a few 5g containers filled from the RO filter, so not too much more work than water changes straight out of the tap.
wheatiesl337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 06:50 PM   #15
jpappy789
Wannabe Guru
 
jpappy789's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,045
Default

That's dedication...I only have about 40 combined gallons of water to work with and I'm far too lazy to use RO as the only source of water on my tanks.

What type of substrate/media is it in? That's another big factor.
__________________
jpappy789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012