another newbie with algae
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2007, 04:38 AM   #1
phishy
Algae Grower
 
phishy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer, AR
Posts: 46
Default

another newbie with algae


I got back from vacation today. I was gone a little over a week so I was excited about seeing my new planted tank. Well, as you can see from the pictures I have somewhat of an algae problem. Is this hair algae or spot algae or what?





It's been set up for two weeks now (it's a 29 gallon)... I have eco complete substrate, 130watt powercompact light, and co2. While I was gone, the lights and the co2 were on a timer and were on for 6 hours during the day. I haven't added any fertilizers yet, but I do have Greg Watson's fertilizers ready for use. My ph is around 6.8 and my kh is 5.0. I bought 10 shrimp today from a pet store to help with the algae.

So what should I do about this algae? Any suggestions/ideas/advice?
phishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-11-2007, 05:14 AM   #2
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (74/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18,661
Default

The first thing you do with any algae is clean it out of the tank and off of the plants. If any plants are heavily infested with algae it is best to prune away the algae. Then change at least 50% of the water and get the CO2 up to 30 ppm and fertilize adequately with NPK and traces. You are likely to battle some algae for quite awhile with that high a light intensity, so it would help to turn off half of the light until the algae is under control and you are dosing fertilizers steadily. Make or buy a drop checker - the Red Sea unit is only about $14, and works fine, but you need to use distilled water with a KH of 4 dKH in it, not tank water. Then you will know you have 30 ppm of CO2 in the water when the water in the drop checker is green.
__________________
Hoppy
Hoppy is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012