Nitrates...
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Shrimp & Other Invertebrates


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2013, 05:40 PM   #1
Subtletanks91
Moss'n shrimp pimp
 
Subtletanks91's Avatar
 
PTrader: (39/100%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Redwood city, ca
Posts: 2,498
Default

Nitrates...


I've been a bit confused as to why my shrimp aren't breeding like there were a month ago. But I found out why and I'm not happy and actually am freaking out a bit.

I know nitrates are needed in the tank. But it is supposed to be 40ppm or below. Well I just tested it and its at or over 160ppm

I use purigen, recharge it every two weeks. And my filter is well over 6 months cycled. I just replaced the purigen again. And also did a water change yesterday.

How in the hell am I supposed to lower them?

I have floaters and moss, and I know one of them also absorbs nitrates.

This is bad.
__________________
must....have.....more....moss n shrimp!!!!!!!!!!

Subtletanks91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-14-2013, 05:58 PM   #2
Soothing Shrimp
Planted Tank Guru
 
Soothing Shrimp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (131/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 6,606
Default

Do a large water change.
__________________
RAOK Club and BBRR Club! My thinking has been invert-ed!
Soothing Shrimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 05:59 PM   #3
Subtletanks91
Moss'n shrimp pimp
 
Subtletanks91's Avatar
 
PTrader: (39/100%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Redwood city, ca
Posts: 2,498
Default

I just changed the water yesterday, did a half change
__________________
must....have.....more....moss n shrimp!!!!!!!!!!

Subtletanks91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 06:00 PM   #4
ravensgate
Planted Tank Guru
 
ravensgate's Avatar
 
PTrader: (66/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 3,135
Default

Why are you recharging your purigen every two weeks?

And as SS mentioned, large water changes will get them down. And not sure why you think nitrates are 'needed in the tank' unless you're going for a planted tank more than a shrimp tank. I keep my tanks as close to 0 on nitrates as I can, my plants do fine and my shrimp appreciate it
ravensgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 06:07 PM   #5
Subtletanks91
Moss'n shrimp pimp
 
Subtletanks91's Avatar
 
PTrader: (39/100%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Redwood city, ca
Posts: 2,498
Default

I recharge it every two weeks so it never stops working, kind of an OCD habit.

There is more plants in my tank than shrimp right now. IDE like to keep it below 20ppm.

Why would it be so high If I just did a 50% water change yesterday
__________________
must....have.....more....moss n shrimp!!!!!!!!!!

Subtletanks91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 06:14 PM   #6
EKLiu
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
EKLiu's Avatar
 
PTrader: (19/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 481
Default

Are you using RO water? Many people's tap water already has a lot of nitrates in it.
EKLiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 06:25 PM   #7
ChadO
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 223
Default

Probably need a bit more information about your setup, but a couple things come to mind.

- If you did a 50% water change yesterday, and your readings are still that high, chances are you were well over the 160 reading on the scale.

- I would probably continue with daily 20% water changes until you start to get the concentration under control.

Other thoughts:
- What filter do you have on this tank? Is it possible that the filter is undersized for the tank setup that you have?

- What types of plants do you have in this tank? Some are better than others at sucking up nitrates. Floaters come to mind, hornwort, etc.

- Any chance that your test kit is expired, or at least those used for the nitrate testing? I am guessing you probably have API kit - the newer ones show the expiration date on the bottle. I just ran into this yesterday where my GH kit was woefully expired. I couldn't figure out why it wasn't reading reliably, and then noticed how old it was. I swear it was expired when I bought it at the store because it was 2.5 years out of date.
ChadO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 06:26 PM   #8
Subtletanks91
Moss'n shrimp pimp
 
Subtletanks91's Avatar
 
PTrader: (39/100%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Redwood city, ca
Posts: 2,498
Default

I'm using ro and I re mineralize it using 1/2 tsp of kent ro right. I never use tap water, its very dirty in redwood city.
__________________
must....have.....more....moss n shrimp!!!!!!!!!!

Subtletanks91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 06:30 PM   #9
Subtletanks91
Moss'n shrimp pimp
 
Subtletanks91's Avatar
 
PTrader: (39/100%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Redwood city, ca
Posts: 2,498
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChadO View Post
Probably need a bit more information about your setup, but a couple things come to mind.

- If you did a 50% water change yesterday, and your readings are still that high, chances are you were well over the 160 reading on the scale.

- I would probably continue with daily 20% water changes until you start to get the concentration under control.

Other thoughts:
- What filter do you have on this tank? Is it possible that the filter is undersized for the tank setup that you have?

- What types of plants do you have in this tank? Some are better than others at sucking up nitrates. Floaters come to mind, hornwort, etc.

- Any chance that your test kit is expired, or at least those used for the nitrate testing? I am guessing you probably have API kit - the newer ones show the expiration date on the bottle. I just ran into this yesterday where my GH kit was woefully expired. I couldn't figure out why it wasn't reading reliably, and then noticed how old it was. I swear it was expired when I bought it at the store because it was 2.5 years out of date.
I have a fluval c3 on my tank. My tank is 5.5 gallons, and I know its harder to keep a solid steady param in a smaller tank.

I just bought my API kit last month after the other one had expired, so it's not expired. I have blyxa, moneywort, fissiden fontanus, java fern, salvinia cucullata, dhg, wisteria, colorata I think, and a couple unknowns.

I'm using azoo plant grower bed as a substrate, have manzanita in it, sponge pre filter, ph is 6.4, ammonia is 0 nitrite is 0.
__________________
must....have.....more....moss n shrimp!!!!!!!!!!

Subtletanks91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 06:38 PM   #10
ROZDAB
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Naperville, IL.
Posts: 256
Default

Did you do any scaping during your wc? Did you trim your plants down a lot?

Did you disturb your substrate?

Do you use root tabs? Which kind if so?
ROZDAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 06:43 PM   #11
Subtletanks91
Moss'n shrimp pimp
 
Subtletanks91's Avatar
 
PTrader: (39/100%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Redwood city, ca
Posts: 2,498
Default

No to all of the above, I won't use root tabs because it has copper, again a lil OCD paranoid about root tabs with my shrimp.
__________________
must....have.....more....moss n shrimp!!!!!!!!!!

Subtletanks91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 06:47 PM   #12
ravensgate
Planted Tank Guru
 
ravensgate's Avatar
 
PTrader: (66/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 3,135
Default

Some things that cause nitrate spikes are powdered foods, supplements, decaying leaves. Any of these possibly a culprit?
ravensgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 06:48 PM   #13
Puddles
Suspended
 
PTrader: (26/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 732
Default

Well, when was the last time you did a water change? Maybe your plants aren't keeping up with all the nitrates produced.
Puddles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 07:13 PM   #14
randyl
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,359
Default

It's harder to maintain stable parameters in a smaller tank and you've already mention that. However there is an advantage that is its easier to do water change. I find that when nitrate goes too high (over 40ppm), there's going to be some nitrate in the substrate so if you do a 50% wc your nitrate won't come down to 50%.

I've used fluval nitrate remover in my shrimp tank with very good result. One third of a bottle gets my 10g from 40+ppm to about 5ppm in a matter of hours and shrimps are just fine. You can recharge it with salt too so it is well worth the investment for emergency situation like this. If you around you should find it under $15 a bottle. I pay less that that even in Canada where everything is much more expensive.
randyl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 08:14 PM   #15
Subtletanks91
Moss'n shrimp pimp
 
Subtletanks91's Avatar
 
PTrader: (39/100%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Redwood city, ca
Posts: 2,498
Default

I have a small piece of ial in the tank. But I mean its small maybe 2x2.
I don't use powder food, and I feed them every other day. Sometimes not even that.

The lt water change was yesterday at 50%
__________________
must....have.....more....moss n shrimp!!!!!!!!!!

Subtletanks91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012